We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience The Historic Dockyard Chatham
from US$35.46
More Info
Reviews (2,572)
Filter reviews
2,572 results
Traveller rating
1,859
529
108
43
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,859
529
108
43
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rope making submarine tour hms ocelot victorian ropery historic dockyard annual ticket rope factory sailing ship hms cavalier big space all ages ship building dock yard under cover on site great place to visit entrance fee
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 2,572 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2021 via mobile

We visited for a second time and spent a very enjoyable afternoon. We concentrated on some areas we hadn't managed to fit in last time and found more of interest. My husband found the submarine very interesting and we both thought the Heroines exhibition extremely informative. The Commissioner's house and garden at the far end of the site near the Ropery are well worth a look. Helpful staff.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank Lynne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dockyard C, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Dockyard Chatham, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2021

Thank you Lynne A for your 5* review. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your day with us and glad that you enjoyed our temporary exhibition, Hidden Heroines: the untold story of the women of the dockyard. We're also really pleased to hear you discovered the Commissioner's Garden, which is looking particularly splendid at this time of year. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2021 via mobile

Welcomed as we arrived ticket tickets excellent value as they last a year with limitless visits. There is so much to see there.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank CjbMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dockyard C, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Dockyard Chatham, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2021

Thank you CjbMe for your 5* review. We're delighted to hear that you had a great visit with us and we hope that you are able to visit us again with your annual ticket.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2021 via mobile

Entrance is at the far end and you can walk your visit towards the town and exit next to Fort Amherst. There is a lot of bookings to take if you want to visit the lot, some might be difficult to access if you are infirm or struggle with steps, I don't know if its an extra charge for booking the tours.
I still took two hours to see most of the displays and could walk around the Battleship.
The Submarine was too tight for me to go in. An area not much publicised but was very interesting was the Lifeboats displays. I exited at the South exit and if it wad dry I would have popped to fort Amherst over the road
£22 was a bit steep but covers any visit for twelve months.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank FootienBeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dockyard C, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Dockyard Chatham, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2021

Thank you for your review FootienBeer. The Historic Dockyard is a full day out with over 80 acres to explore and we're pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to the RNLI Gallery. We do hope that you take the opportunity to come back and make the most of your annual ticket as there is still lots to explore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2021 via mobile

Very good place to visit for anybody who is intetestion in history, engineering and everything related to maritime matters.
Three vessels to explore - the best in my opinion is Hms Ocelot - submarine.
Master rope maker tour is the must.

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank Marcin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dockyard C, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Dockyard Chatham, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2021

Thank you Marcin S for your 5* review. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your day with us and took the opportunity to visit both our submarine and the Victorian Ropery. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2021 via mobile

A really fun day out, with loads of interesting exhibits and things to do. The site itself is lovely with great spots for picnics. The submarine tour was the highlight - but wear jeans and sensible shoes!

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank aliced129
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dockyard C, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Dockyard Chatham, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2021

Thank you aliced129 for your 5* review. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your day with us and hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews