We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect escape”
other travellers have booked this property
'The House at Plucks Gutter'
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'The House at Plucks Gutter'
2017 Certificate of Excellence River Stour close by the cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
42 reviews
'The House at Plucks Gutter'
2017 Certificate of Excellence
River Stour close by the cottage
Conservatory
Patio Area
Lounge
Inglenook
Conservatory and Formal Dining Table
Farmhouse Kitchen - Dining Area
Farmhouse Kitchen - Storage
Farmhouse Kitchen - Range
Lounge
Staircase
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Jacuzzi in Main Bathroom [Ground Floor]
Downstairs shower room
If only the trains stopped here...!
Cottage makes a great winter retreat
River in Winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Canterbury, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
CarolynH2...
1 review
“A perfect escape”
Reviewed 9 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

A lovely location that is a perfect base for touring the coast, Canterbury and stunning local countryside. Plenty of helpful tips and walk ideas provided additional ideas. The Cottage has a unique charm and everything you could need. A wonderful few days break.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2018
Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again. Mike and Celia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura C
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unique, wonderful, charming - a real retreat!”
Reviewed 7 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We booked this cottage as a mini-moon. We got married on Saturday 2nd June and stayed in the cottage for three nights. Michael (the owner) was kind enough to leave us a wedding card and a gift on the table for when we arrived! Easy collection of key from the Dog & Duck at around 10:45pm on the Saturday. We found the turning ok but it is definitely not for the faint-hearted and if we had not had so much to carry inside the cottage, we would definitely have parked at the Dog & Duck most nights and just walked down to the cottage - we did do this on the other nights. It can also be awkward to park due to the angle of the drive.

The cottage itself is just delightful. We only live 8 miles down the road in Bekesbourne and yet we honestly felt like we had driven miles and were somewhere in France! Such a treat to stay in such a wonderful, charming cottage. Definitely try out the Jacuzzi bath! Fully furnished with gorgeous furniture, lots of CDs, DVDs, books, games...you certainly won't be bored!

Very spacious, full of character, very peaceful - will definitely return! Couldn't imagine having stayed anywhere else for our mini-moon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2018
Many thanks for your review and so happy you found your first night of wedded bliss at the cottage. See you soon, Mike and Celia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theclouds...
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely relaxing break”
Reviewed 2 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Lovely cottage, beautiful, peaceful area,and fantastic food at the pub next door - all in all a lovely relaxing short break, made even better with the fantastic weather (a trip to Canterbury also a must!)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2018
Thank you for your review, we look forward to seeing you again soon, Mike and Celia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureenro...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet, homely, pet friendly riverside cottage”
Reviewed 24 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Lovely 'get away from it all' riverside cottage. Perfect for those who would like to unwind. Found some great dog walks and ended up at the neighbouring pub. We will visit again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2018
Thanks for the review, we hope to see you again soon. Mike and Celia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escape524...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Unique and trully amazing”
Reviewed 26 January 2018 for a stay in April 2017

A very special cottage - well maintained, specious and of course there was the fire! Garden is lovely and the hot tub / hydro bath was very welcome. I would have been worried if the kids were small though given the proximity to the water. We are hoping to go back soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2018
Many thanks for your review. You are absolutely right when you say we are not suitable for small children and we state this on our website and try to refuse such bookings.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Mike and Celia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing