We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home”
other travellers have booked this property
'The House at Plucks Gutter'
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'The House at Plucks Gutter'
2017 Certificate of Excellence River Stour close by the cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
40 reviews
'The House at Plucks Gutter'
2017 Certificate of Excellence
River Stour close by the cottage
Conservatory
Patio Area
Lounge
Inglenook
Conservatory and Formal Dining Table
Farmhouse Kitchen - Dining Area
Farmhouse Kitchen - Storage
Farmhouse Kitchen - Range
Lounge
Staircase
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Jacuzzi in Main Bathroom [Ground Floor]
Downstairs shower room
If only the trains stopped here...!
Cottage makes a great winter retreat
River in Winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Canterbury, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Matthew C
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 19 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Great place this is our second visit ( took our daughter this time she loved it) still an amazing place so much history !! So much happens in the cottage (spirits) and also in surrounding area and as for the hot tub turn it on and well if you have a bad back you won't after great place will be back soon

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2015
Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kassie201...
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“very nice with a hint of disappointment”
Reviewed 13 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The cottage itself was charming, I had booked this property for the locality, the traditional charm and jucuzzi bath. To our disappointment the jucuzzi bath did not fully work and was a little unclean, this was disappointing as we hoped to have this service as mentioned in the writeup of what was on offer.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2015
Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. We checked after your stay and found the jacuzzi was working correctly but had been switched off, we have improved the guide to the cottage to provide better instructions on how to switch the jacuzzi back on.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrs p w
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

lovely cottage with everything you could want and in a lovely location, great for walks with the dog. highly recommend the dog & duck pub just across the road, good food at a great price. would definitely go there again.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2015
Thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed yourself and look forward to you staying again in the future, Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna B
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very Quaint”
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We have just arrived home from a wonderful stay at Plucks Gutter. The property is very quaint and quirky, it was like home from home! We done some lovely walks along the river and went to Ramsgate and Canterbury. I would highly recommend the Dog and Duck across the road, home made food was good and fresh, huge portions and reasonably priced.
We will definitely return.
We especially liked the honesty policy, laid back owner who didn't bombard us with rules of the house and well equipped kitchen.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2015
Thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed yourself and look forward to you staying again in the future, Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura P
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed 26 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Had a magical few days at The House and a lovely meal at the pub across the road (who allowed us to eat in the bar area with our dog). Beautiful cottage, tastefully decorated, with a very well equipped kitchen, lovely bathrooms and bedrooms. We got some logs at a very good price from a farm down the road and had the open fire burning. The close proximity of the river was great for dog walks and fishing (although we didnt catch anything!). Easy booking process through trip advisor and the owner was very quick to respond to queries - always very helpfully. Would highly recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2015
Thank you for your review - we look forward to seeing you again, Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing