We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Front view of cottages set in a courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view of cottages set in a courtyard
Secluded rear garden of cottages with their private terraces, with shade from the old mulberry tree Luxury bathroom with walk-in shower and fluffy towels
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Front view of cottages set in a courtyard
Secluded rear garden of cottages with their private terraces, with shade from the old mulberry tree
Luxury bathroom with walk-in shower and fluffy towels
Fully fitted oak kitchen with all mod-cons!
Sitting room opening onto courtyard
Time to relax and enjoy the great British summer!
The old barn with it's summer flowers
Time for that leisurely breakfast
Duck to go through the door onto your terrace!
A basket of organic goodies to welcome you to the cottage
Looking in from the front door
Fragrant roses and old garden tools
Dedicated private parking
Summer colours in the courtyard
Lie in bed and look onto the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Canterbury, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
guagliona
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 5 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Excellent communication and friendly service. Accommodation was lovely and comfortable with everything we needed. Location was great with easy access to Canterbury, Sandwich and the Kent coast.
It was lovely to have outdoor space and we even managed to sit outside on the odd occasion! All in all an excellent stay and we would love to stay again in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2017
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! We are ideally situated to visit all the wonderful places Kent has to offer. We’d love to welcome you back, we have just put Mespresso machines into the Cottages!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair...
1 review
“An absolute pleasure.”
Reviewed 29 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I have no hesitation in recommending Canterbury Cottages. The cottage is delightful, immaculately clean, the garden beautiful and the hosts exceptionally friendly and efficient. I look forward to our next stay there.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2017
Thank you, Alistair, for your kind words. We try to make everyone feel "at home" without intruding! We very much look forward to seeing you both again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith_Bur...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A well equiped holiday cottage”
Reviewed 3 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We had a very good week. There were lots of things supplied that are not usually supplied in self-catering. The table and chairs outside were welcome as our week was hot and dry. The walk-in shower worked well.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2017
It was a pleasure to meet you both, and so glad you enjoyed your week with us. We endeavour to provide everything you might need in the Cottages while away from home. We hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mamta S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Stay”
Reviewed 4 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Anne and Rob have set up the perfect cottage for a couple who just need a getaway.
The size of the cottage, the provisions, the ambiance - nothing could be faulted. Anne has clearly put thought to what the needs would be and ensured all the things were provided.
Thank you Anne for making our stay there during our first anniversary so lovely and memorable and I look forward to making another trip again and staying at one of your beautiful cottages!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2017
Hello Mamta, so pleased you enjoyed your stay so much, and that your husband was not cold! We really strive to make our guests' stay a very enjoyable one, and delighted that we succeeded with you both.
Looking forward to seeing you again, warmest wishes, Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DublinGir...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Loved The Gardener's Cottage. It totally exceeded expectations. The grounds and the property are so well kept and the cottage has everything you could need - it is so well stocked. It was a lovely touch that we were greeted with a little hamper of essentials like bread, eggs, milk as well as some wine and biscuits. The place was immaculate.

Anne was a great host. There if we needed anything but let us be the rest of the time.

The pro's:
- The kitchen was well stocked with everything (utensils, cookware, cutlery, dishwasher etc) you'd need for a stay
- The cottage is perfect for two people - cosy
- Great shower.
- Lovely terrace at the back with garden furniture - a sun trap during the day
- Comfortable bed
- Cosy living area
- Plenty of storage - wardrobe and drawers and could store cases under the bed.
- A 3 minute walk to an organic farmers market which has everything you'd need - local meats, fruits and veg and other groceries.
- the cottage is quiet
- It's a great base to explore the area. It's less than a five minute drive to the gorgeous village of Wingham, a 15 minute drive to Canterbury and is around a 30 minute drive to lovely coastal villages like Sandwich, Deal, Dover and Whitstable

The con's (not big things at all)
- the living, dining and bedroom area is all in the one area so if somebody wants to go to bed and somebody wants to stay up watching TV this could be a problem. Although I had ear plugs and it worked out perfect (and it's no different to staying in a hotel room - actually it's better as there's a wall dividing the room so the bed is a little away from the living area).
- the rental is by the week. I can understand why the rental is for a week but it would be great to have the option of a long weekend etc.

If I was travelling to that region again I would love to stay in the cottage again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How well maintained the property was. We were sad leaving.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Dover Deal and Whitstable are about 25-30 minutes from us, but Sandwich is about 10 minutes, just down the road. We are so lucky to have the farmer's market within walking distance. We do do shorter lets during the Spring, Autumn and Winter, but in the Summer we find the majority of people are after a week's holiday and a long weekend means it spoils a week. We would love see you both again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing