We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, super hot curry!”
Review of The Alban

The Alban
Ranked #7 of 356 Restaurants in St Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$26
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Established since 1984, we are a family run restaurant who continue to add to the British culinary landscape with traditional and home made Indian and Bengali food. We believe that whilst keeping to the old and traditional recipes, we will keep searching, evolving and perfecting innovative cooking techniques to bring you new and exciting mouth watering dishes. We look forward to welcoming you soon.
Reviewed 11 November 2016

I ordered one of the hottest chicken curries on the menu and it was awesome! I collected my takeaway so I can't comment on service/speed of delivery.

The rice, poppadums and naan bread was tasty and all of the food was high quality. I'll definitely be back!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank citychic81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbanTandoori, Manager at The Alban, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2016

Thank you for your review and visit the other day. We appreciate it and are pleased that you had a great food experience. You must try the dine-in experience too.

We look forward to seeing you soon, no doubt.

Warm regards,
The Alban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 82 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2016

Have lived in St Albans for 18 years and this was our first visit (there are other Indian restaurants near us so we have just been lazy!)
The staff were charming and helpful. The food was fresh, well-presented and tasty. It is quite small but the shape of the dining area adds to the ambience. Well worth the 20 minute walk. Also, it was a Sunday so not too full or noisy.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Gramsci87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbanTandoori, Manager at The Alban, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2016

Thank you for your visit and review, its very much appreciated. We're always glad to welcome new patrons to the restaurant and are chuffed when they've have an experience like yours.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon (not in another 18 years time :)!).

Warm regards,
The Alban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

Lovely evening in this family run restaurant. Super food & exemplary service. Made to feel very welcome. My date had a love evening too, so thanks to my son for the recommendation. Will definitely return.

Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbanTandoori, Manager at The Alban, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2016

Dear Mark,

Thank you for taking time write this lovely review and your visit the other day. We are always pleased when new patrons try our restaurant, on the recommendation of friends or family and meets their expectations.

We of course look forward to your return.

Warm regards,
The Alban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016

This was a wonderful restaurant only steps away from the St. Alban City Station. Mew were visiting London for the week and staying in St. Alban. The staff was great, service was attentive and food was excellent. I would highly recommends this place!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank neon06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbanTandoori, Manager at The Alban, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2016

Thank you for your review and visit. We're pleased that you chose our restaurant and had a great evening. Our restaurant location makes it ideal for commuters coming back from London who are hungry for great food.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to St Albans.

Warm regards,
The Alban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2016

We were in St Albans to visit our son and did not know where to eat, we found The Alban on TripAdvisor and booked it on the basis of the great reviews and our love of Indian food. We were not disappointed, we were impressed from the moment we walked through the door, the staff are attentive but not intrusive, we felt we were a guest in their home rather than customers in their restaurant. It is apparent they take pride in what they do and the food they cook. They are helpful in explaining their dishes and do all they can to ensure you have an enjoyable meal. From beginning to end myself, husband and son enjoyed our meal, we all had starters, the nan bread was so tasty and definitely the best any of us had. Our curries were delicious. We all had something different and we enjoyed every bit of it.
Thanks so much for a fantastic meal and a lovely evening, we will come and visit again next time we come down to see our son.
Kind regards
Fiona, Shaun & Matthew

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbanTandoori, Manager at The Alban, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2016

Dear Fiona, Shaun & Matthew,

Thank you for your visit and your heartfelt review. We certainly take pride in our restaurant and the real thing that drive us to create a great dining experience is our passion for Indian food. We have been fortunate to add to the St Albans culinary scene for many decades and with your help we hope to continue for many more.

We look forward to welcoming you all in the near future.

Best regards,
The Alban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Alban also viewed

St Albans, Hertfordshire
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Alban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing