We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently amazing!”
Review of The Alban

The Alban
Ranked #8 of 366 Restaurants in St Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$26
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Established since 1984, we are a family run restaurant who continue to add to the British culinary landscape with traditional and home made Indian and Bengali food. We believe that whilst keeping to the old and traditional recipes, we will keep searching, evolving and perfecting innovative cooking techniques to bring you new and exciting mouth watering dishes. We look forward to welcoming you soon.
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Lovely staff - we always get our takeaway from the Alban Tandoori. Best around & quick delivery. They make me a Kashmiri with lychees which is lovely too.

Thank r9kep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbanTandoori, Manager at The Alban, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2016

Thank you for your splendid review. We are only more than happy to make those special dishes for our patrons.

We look forward to receiving your next order soon.

Best regards,
The Alban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 110 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2016

The Alban Tandoori has been our favourite curry house for a decade or so. We have a takeaway delivered every Friday unless we're going there to eat in. The food is always fantastic and whilst it's hard to get past your old favourites there are always interesting new options and lots of variety on the menu. The management and staff are lovely and friendly and the food is great value for money. We love it!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank davifryer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbanTandoori, Manager at The Alban, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2016

Thank you Mr Fryer for taking time out to write this charming review and for your patronage for all these years. We really appreciate it. We work very hard to get this just right for you and all our patrons. We look forward to serving you for many more years.

Warm regards,
The Alban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Great restaurant, food if the highest quality and staff always very welcoming and professional. Best "Indian Restaurant " in the area.

Thank jim24hg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbanTandoori, Manager at The Alban, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2016

Dear Jim,

Thank you for your charming review. We appreciate your recognition of our hard work and that it is making dividends for patrons like yourself. We look forward to continuing to impress you well into the future.

Best regards,
The Alban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Superb food, excellent service.
First time at the restaurant tonight and what a great meal. Recommended 2 dishes by the waiter and both superb. Also the king prawn starter was the best we have had at any Indian.
Can't recommend enough .. try it

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 758BillB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbanTandoori, Manager at The Alban, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2016

Dear Bill,

Thank you for your lovely review, we appreciate it. We are always pleased to hear such positive feedback after all the hard work we put in behind the scenes.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
The Alban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

This place has some of the best Indian food I have ever tasted. There was lots of meat in our curries, unlike some restaurants, and the sauce was thick and full of flavour. The sauce given with the popadoms was wonderful (and made by their chef). It is these details that elevates it from being a run of the mill place.

We felt incredibly welcomed from the second we walked in the door until we left. The service was friendly and enthusiastic. The atmosphere was pleasant and perfect for our date night, not particularly fancy, but relaxed and comfortable as well as very modern which is exactly what we needed for a good talk and night together.

This is a family run restaurant. We were served by husband and wife who are the owners. Nice people and their care and love of this place permeates through the food that seems carefully crafted with huge flavour. No watery cheap food here! You must eat here if you like Indian food and want to support a local family business who puts their product and customers 1st.

Thank Heidi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbanTandoori, Manager at The Alban, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2016

Dear Heidi,

Thank you for your enthusiatic review. We take great care in perfecting our dishes, our family working very closely with our team of chefs to get it just right. Our belief that food always has room for improvement and innovation drives us to try and provide a great food experience.

We are a family run restaurant and have been fortunate to serve St Albans for many years. With your help and other patrons we look forward to serving for many more years.

Thank you,
The Alban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Alban also viewed

St Albans, Hertfordshire
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 
St Albans, Hertfordshire
Watford, Hertfordshire
 
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Alban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing