We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (661)
Filter reviews
661 results
Traveller rating
313
258
68
16
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
313
258
68
16
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cafe rouge next door car park ryder cup brick wall nice hotel minute walk central location centre of town excellent location the ground floor hotel room eggs benedict air conditioning good size bed was comfortable checking in night's sleep
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 661 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2018

A number of friends stayed here. We arrived expecting to see a wonderful old building, but although the outside looked to be full of character, the decor inside was disappointing. Our room was very bland but had everything we needed for an overnight stay. Public areas were slightly dated but not in a characterful way and there was definitely a need for some refurbishment.
However, the staff were lovely throughout our stay, helpful, always around when needed and efficiently friendly. Parking looked as though it would be a nightmare when we first arrived, but the hotel has plenty of free parking area which staff can direct you to as soon as you report to reception.
The bed was comfortable and the bathroom okay, not the best of showers, but we’ve had worse. The bathroom just looked a bit sad and dated.
Breakfast was good and there were plenty of staff around to provide an excellent service on what was inevitably going to be a busy morning.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Christine029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarion Collect... T, Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Dear Christine029,
Many thanks for your feedback, we are currently preparing our next round of refurbishment but I am delighted that we were able to help throughout your stay and help you have a good stay! Hopefully you will consider us again when next in the area... Wishing you all the best .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Bizarrely I had one of the best ever night's sleep in a hotel in recent years: the room was quiet, the ventilation was good, there were no disturbances from outside in the morning (most hotels seem to pay staff to through rubbish, beer kegs etc etc around underneath all the rooms from about 5am each morning).
But the common ways of the hotel are a little tired, and there's that slight whiff of age circling everywhere.
Staff did their best to provide a good service.
The shower was brilliant - so powerful that the draught meant the curtain got sucked into the bath and kept sticking to me, so had to pull it back a bit to allow the air to circulate.
Parking is a nightmare - there are about 4 bays on a 1st come 1st served basis out the back. Everyone else is sent to one of 2 off-site locations.
Good location, very close to the town centre.
I wanted to write a bad review for this place since the overall ambience is poor, exacerbated by my anger about the parking and the overall sense of not being impressed by the common ways. But the service, the quietness of the room, the power of the shower and the fact I had one of the best night's sleep ever in a hotel mean I'm grudgingly having to write a good review. Just goes to show why for hoteliers 1st impressions are so important. But that reviewers shouldn't judge a book solely by its cover.

Room Tip: At the back - quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ralphblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarion Collect... T, Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Dear ralphblack,
Thank you for your honesty! We feel your pain...
We are aware of the 'slight whiff of age' (this is a listed building, so the correct term is 'beautiful maturity' or 'charming features') and we are currently drawing up plans for a round of bedrooms refurbishment, as well as updating some of the public places.
We hope you will consider us again in the future and wish you all the best in the meantime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

Lovely hotel with nice, standard rooms. I stayed here with a lot of family for my wedding, and they were considerate enough to put the newlyweds on a different floor to everyone else so that there was some privacy.
The room service is linked to Cafe Rouge next door so you cannot order things past mid-evening time.
Very close to the centre of St Albans so good for staying in the city. Roughly £100 a night.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Maddie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarion Collect... T, Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Dear Maddie L,
Thank you very much for your feedback and positive rating, we hope to see you again very soon! Regarding the Room Service, I must apologise as our own room service menu is being updated and will come back shortly in the rooms, enabling you to order 24/7 once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

Stay here just for an overnight night. The hotel was very organised from the moment we arrived, plenty of free parking in one of the hotel car parks, helpful staff, discount in Cafe rouge next door(who also delivered if your wanting room service), really comfort beds.This hotel was in a great location in the town centre and just down the road are a couple of nice, traditional locals pubs.The hotel itself has a very cosy bar and offers a good selection for breakfast. We really enjoyed our stay. Recommend and great valve for money.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Meadvalegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarion Collect... T, Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Dear Meadvalegirl,
We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

Arrived on 10th September and had a very warm welcome from Linda and Julia, they helped with a few queries that we had!! Room was very clean and in a central location. Breakfast was delicious!!! Thank you for a great stay would definitely recommend x

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank mariakR4028AS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarion Collect... T, Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Dear Maria K,
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again on another occasion - you know you are always welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews