We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,125)
Filter reviews
1,125 results
Traveller rating
241
467
291
77
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
241
467
291
77
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tgi fridays train station accor hotels cruise terminal retail park shopping centre west quay short stay comfortable bed would stay again pre cruise within easy walking distance mayflower theatre per day night's sleep following morning one night stay
Filter
Updating list...
323 - 328 of 1,125 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2016

I have stayed here a few times. The rooms are quite small but have everything that you need. The lower rooms have secondary glazing to block the noise which isn't too bad anyway. The chilled water air conditioning might as well be turned off as it simply does not work efficiently. The showers are slow flow compared to the water pressure but are okay. The bath is a usual small hotel style one. The TV is great. The alarm function does not work.
The rooms are all clean but vary according to where you are placed. The WIFI is included and works well. The beds are very comfortable.
The rooms vary in price considerably depending on demand from the cruises.
The town is a 10 minute walk away if you do not fancy the Restaurant and Bar in the foyer.
The breakfast is buffet style and is really good with a lovely bean to cup coffee machine.

Stayed: May 2016
Thank machjoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benedita S, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments and for being a returning guest.

The air cooling system has its limitation during the season change but we are working on improving it, thank you for your feedback on this.

Please you enjoyed breakfast and our lovely coffee.

We look forward to welcome you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Benedita Sousa
General Manager
Ibis Southampton Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2016

This was our first stay at an Ibis. We are seasoned middle-aged travelers who usually stay at hotels with more comfort and amenities. In this case, we chose Ibis because of its location before a cruise. The very reasonable price which included breakfast attracted us as well.

The hotel is a very easy 5 minutes walk from the National Express bus station. Our first impression was a very friendly and efficient front desk clerk. She checked us in quickly and offered to be of assistance if there was anything else we needed.

The room was basic, a big bed, a couple of pillows, a desk, a coffee/tea station, a flat screen tv and a chair. The bathroom had 2 liquid soap dispensers and exactly 2 towels. We had to request more towels and extra pillows.

Because the weather was unseasonably warm, our room was warm as well. The hotel does not turn on the air conditioning that early in the season. The windows opened but were tethered by wires that prevented opening them more than a crack. This made sleeping a bit uncomfortable.

We really liked the breakfast. There were lots of choices of foods and ample seating.

The best part was the location. We could see our cruise ship pull up from our window. Walking to the ship with our carry-on size luggage was not difficult. This alone made the Ibis a great choice in spite of being less comfortable than what we are used to.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benedita S, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and that the team has made you feel welcome.

Great that you found the location of the hotel convenient.

We look forward to welcome you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Benedita Sousa
General Manager
Ibis Southampton Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016

Convenient location, easy to find and plenty of parking. I stayed overnight on business and enjoyed a comfortable stay in a hotel that is typical of the brand.

Helpful receptionists, clean and tidy room, albeit not overly large, and a reasonable room rate for mid-week. Adequate breakfast for an additional £9. Not a hotel to spend time in, but a good base for the City centre and nearby activities.

It is adjacent to an Ibis Budget hotel so make sure you go to the right hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MDS24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benedita S, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feedback.

The team will be pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcome you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Benedita Sousa
General Manager
Ibis Southampton Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

Near to everything if you were willing to walk.. Near train station.. Hotel very clean and staff very helpful.. However the view wasn't inspiring.. But hey close to most things.. Quiet and clean.. Friendly staff, and helpful

Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
Thank SG_exploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benedita S, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback.

Please to hear that you found the location of the hotel convenient.

We look forward to welcome you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Benedita Sousa
General Manager
Ibis Southampton Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed for one night in Room 102 an adapted room. I am a wheelchair user and my wife also has mobility problems.
We asked for extra pillows which were put in our room whilst we were having a lovely meal in the Phileas Fogg restaurant. First rate staff and lovely, reasonably priced, food.
Our room was very quiet and the bed was very comfortable the only snags were that my wife had to walk sideways (with a struggle) to get down the side of the bed - the gap between the wall and the bed was only narrow. Also the 'help' button was so close to my pillow I accidentally activated it! Once I realised what I had done I reset the button. But no one from reception phoned the room to check on our welfare.
Another minor gripe was that there was only one chair in the room so it was as well that I could sit in my wheelchair.
On the whole we enjoyed our brief stay. The staff were very pleasant and the hotel lovely and clean with dedicated free parking for blue badge holders right by the entrance.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Vectis8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benedita S, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments and kind words about the team.

I am sure that the team will be thrilled to know that they made you feel welcome and you had a service from us.

Apologies for the issue with the alarm I will look into this matter and thank you for bringing it to my attention.

We look forward to welcome you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Benedita Sousa
General Manager
Ibis Southampton Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews