We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveller rating
243
34
15
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
243
34
15
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmercer collectionmercer groupgastro pubparking permit to parkhotel groupsmall problemflorence armssouthsea town centresea frontcomfortable bedbeautiful hoteltop floorbreakfast was deliciouswould definitely stay here againhighly recommend this hotelquiet areapowerful shower
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

Lovely room, very clean, nice decor and a good size. Although the mirror did make me look short and fat
Reception very welcoming and helpful.
Great choice for breakfast.
We very much enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Dear Maria, thank you for your review.
We are very pleased that you liked your room (with the exception of the mirror!).
Breakfast is a combination of a continental buffet and A la Carte cooked breakfast, so we do offer a number of different options for breakfast and we are glad that this was to your liking.
We look forward to welcoming you again, for the best rate, just give us a call directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018

We stayed just 1 night at Florence Garden Boutique Hotel as part of a short weekend break and we were delighted with the accommodation and the standard of the breakfast.
I must admit that we would have never found this gem just walking by, because the outside of this hotel is quite deceiving.
When we went into the reception area it was like stepping into another world... very stylish interior and this impression continued with our room. Although the room was quite small, the space had been designed very well and we had everything in the room that we would expect of this type of accommodation. The bed was comfortable and we both had a good night sleep.
The breakfast room was just stunning and tastefully decorated. The breakfast choice was superb and we both enjoyed the freshly made food and tea & coffee. All the staff was very attentive and professional.
We would certainly recommend this accommodation and would not hesitate to return for another visit.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtro25256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2018

Thank you for your complimentary review.
We do have different sized rooms so that we can cater for different budgets and needs, so if you would like a bigger room next time, just give us a call so that we can find you the most suitable room for the best price!
We look forward to welcoming you upon your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

We were warmly greeted by one of the very attentive staff. They kept our luggage while we went to explore the town (we arrived in mid morning and the room, not surprisingly, wasn't ready). On our return, the room was ready and our luggage carried up. Very comfortable bed, huge bath, plenty of hot water, and nicely decorated. The hotel is a series of town houses now converted to hotel use. Excellent full breakfast cooked to order and cheerfully served. The only disappointment was VERY poor service at the restaurant attached to the hotel. Staff at the hotel was distressed to hear of our bad experience. We will return when we are next in Portsmouth

Stayed: June 2018
Thank nancyjackathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2018

Dear Nancy and Jack, thank you for your kind review.
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were well looked after by the Florence Gardens team!
Your feedback was passed back to the restaurant, who were also sorry to have not provided a level of service that did not keep with their high standards.
We look forward to welcoming you again, for the best price, you can contact us directly by phone, email or our website!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018

We had no problems finding parking in spite of it being a bank holiday Monday on a scorchingly hot day in Southsea.
Check-in was welcoming and efficient. Our room - Room 4 - was fresh, bright and comfortable. Whilst it was hot (no air-conditioning) we were provided with a fan and were able to open windows- we were not disturbed by outside noise in spite of room facing a road.
The bathroom was large and clean with a walk in shower.
Breakfast was freshly prepared and catered for my wife's gluten-free diet.

Fantastic value and will definitely stay here again. Ideally situated. 30 minutes walk to Gun Warf Quays and Fratton Park. 5-10 minutes to sea front. Well worth a walk along front to Old Portsmouth.

We also stayed at the Clarence which is part of the Mercer Group. The reasons I have rated Florence Gardens higher are due to price and preferring the room we stayed in. Service in both hotels was excellent and breakfasts were of an identical standard of identical menus. Couples may prefer the Clarence as it caters solely for adults (ie no children).

Room Tip: We were really happy with room 4. Large room overlooking front of hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidJerseyCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear David, we appreciate your kind review.
We are pleased that we were able to make your stay comfortable on a hot bank holiday!
Despite peoples' dietary requirements, we aim to give every guest a great start to the day.
To ensure that you book the best room to suit your preferences, please contact us directly so that we can provide anther 5 star stay for the best possible price!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

We stayed in the "pink" King room at Florence Gardens in May.

PARKING: We were lucky enough to find a spot in their private lot.
LOCATION: Quiet neighbourhood; easy walk to the seaside and restaurants. You must drive to get to the Historic Dockyard.
HOSTS: Staff were very pleasant and helpful, from booking to breakfast to check-out.
BED: This is where they lose a star, because we did not find the mattress very comfortable, sort of hard and springy. Sheets and towels were nice though! Our room had an "airy" feel to it, and was spacious with lots of windows we could open. No noise was heard at night.
BATH: A pleasant bathroom, if a little small. Really nice toiletries provided (L'Occitane). Shower only.
BREAKFAST: 10/10, the best English breakfast I have ever eaten. Dining room was nice, with garden view.

Thank you for a nice stay!

Room Tip: The king room with pink accents was quiet and beautiful.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lylie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception1113, Manager at Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Dear Lylie, thank you for your kind review of our Superior "Pink" Room.
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay. The seafront is indeed just a moments walk away, which you can use to take a leisurely stroll up to the Historic Dockyard!
We are sorry to hear that you did not find the mattress the most comfortable and we will certainly look into this. Our guests comfort is of the utmost importance to us and we thank you for bringing this to our attention.
We very much look forward to welcoming you again, to receive the best rate and personalised room selection, just contact us directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews