We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an improvement ”
Review of Thatched House

Thatched House
Ranked #499 of 711 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great beers and spirits ,food has been much improved from the previous owners.the tired decor has been been much updated

Thank 972jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The pub has recently been refurbished. We chose the pub as its website states that it has a play area for kids. However, this has now been removed. The service was really poor and there was a long list of things that were not available, including coffee. We waited 45 minutes for an ice cream. As the place was not really busy, it was difficult to excuse the poor service.

Thank PaulGJenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a lovely meal from the newly refurbished pub, now with carvery.
Play area now gone to accommodate it.
Only downside is queuing to order food, maybe have designated till or waiters to take food order, and then could have more barstaff to get served drinks - seemed to be a lot of staff standing around, with less behind bar. Maybe info on how to order aswell.
Staff were very nice and helpful though.

Thank Loopylou13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley B, General Manager at Thatched House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We are so please you like it and thought the food was lovely. As with any reopening we will work out the small issues quickly to ensure all aspects of service are perfect.
Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We hadn’t visited in a while but popped in on Easter weekend. Glad we did too!!! There was such a lovely atmosphere the minute we walked through the door. Really cheerful staff too which is always a big plus point for us. We love the food and it’s great value. Lovely view. Saw there is a carvery starting soon. Will certainly look forward to that!

Thank Carrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley B, General Manager at Thatched House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is much appreciated and I will pass this on to the team as it lovely to know that they have done a great job.
Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you with our new refurbishment and carvery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

our visit today was the worst of any restaurant. the food was poorly cooked burnt and underdone the toilets were unsatisfactory with broken lighting and broken locks

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank Gill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley B, General Manager at Thatched House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Hi. I am the manager here and I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your time with us. It is our aim to ensure that everyone has a great experience and leaves happy and I am disappointed that we failed on this occasion.
If you would like to discuss this further with me please call on 02392 821527

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thatched House also viewed

 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Thatched House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing