We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent location and apartment”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Vulcan

HISTORIC VULCAN BUILDING HOUSING THE APARTMENT
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
HISTORIC VULCAN BUILDING HOUSING THE APARTMENT
LOUNGE BEDROOM 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
HISTORIC VULCAN BUILDING HOUSING THE APARTMENT
LOUNGE
BEDROOM 1
HARBOUR FRONT 50 METRES FROM APARTMENT
DINING ROOM
APARTMENT ENTRANCE IS UNDER THE ARCH
SPINNAKER TOWER 80 METRES AWAY
SEAFRONT AT SOUTHSEA 5 MINUTES WALK AWAY
DINING AREA FROM LOUNGE
STAIRCASE TO LOUNGE
BEDROOM 2
KITCHEN
LOUNGE
BEDROOM
LOUNGE
FRONT OF VULCAN BUILDING
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Portsmouth, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Spans03
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent location and apartment”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Just returned from a week at this apartment. The owners were extremely helpful, the apartment was spotlessly clean. It was a perfect location with shops, restaurants and beaches nearby. A wonderful base for a holiday in Portsmouth.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and quality of accommodation
Liked least: Having to leave !
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Both the historical interest of the property and its convenient position
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Aug 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in our apartment in Portsmouth and especially that you enjoyed the peace and quiet of the building especially considering its location minutes from all the area has to offer.

Thanks very much for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
katdog_13
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Comfortable, clean and very convenient.”
Reviewed 1 July 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Right in the dock area where all the life is -- this was a fantastic place to stay. Restaurants and shops a two minute walk away, Tesco express included, so lots of choice in a waterside setting. Only downside to the apartment is anyone in the top bedroom can here everything being said in the bedroom below so there is no privacy. Probably best suited to a couple only -- but a lovely, comfortable place to stay. Very modern and well maintained by its very friendly and efficient owners this was a winner with us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness and good facility, position
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2013
Thanks very much for your kind review and it was lovely to meet you all.

We appreciate your comments regarding the bedrooms, which we have never received before, but will explore all avenues to see if any remedial action needs to be taken.

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BA777300E...
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overall Great Experience”
Reviewed 8 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Had a Great time staying at Gunwharf over New Year. Apartment was well Maintained.
Only Gripes we had was Half a Toilet Roll in the single Bathroom and one Trash bag making in an essential thing to have to go out and buy on arrival. The Owners are the nicest people and are readily available if you need them,. We did not. Only thing we would change is the Electricity Monitoring. I would rather pay more upfront rather than having to watch the metre incase you go over a Pre determined usage and have to pay extra. Thats just me though. Already looking at going back later this year. I know there are Mutliple Rentals In Gunwharf, however I think it hard to beat these owners.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Property, the Owners
Liked least: Electricity Monitoring
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2013
Thanks very much for taking the time to write a review, which we appreciate greatly and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
In answer to your observations our apartments are self catering and we certainly provide everything most guests require on arrival. There is always a full toilet roll left in each apartment and if you recall on arrival one of your group went to the toilet straight away. However, if this has been an oversight on our part we apologise and would have gladly provided more if requested. As far as the trash bag is concerned we always leave a liner in the bin and tend to find this is sufficient for our guests for their stay. Once again we would have gladly provided extra if required or requested and certainly take on board your points.

We have an allowance on the electricity useage to raise peoples awareness of leaving heating on with windows open, which has occurred in the past. In 7 years of offering our apartments we have only had 4 occasions when guests have exceeded the allowance we provide and then only by a few pounds which we have ignored in all but one of the cases.

Finally, we very much appreciate your recommendation regarding staying at our apartments and thank you for confirming that you are looking forward to visiting us again this year. This is something we pride ourselves upon as a large number of our guests are repeat visitors.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing