We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,528)
Filter reviews
1,529 results
Traveller rating
627
579
218
69
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
627
579
218
69
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view car park sea front south parade pier lounge bar buffet style single room bit dated lovely hotel room was large reception staff isle of wight street parking breakfast was excellent weekend break enjoyable stay a lovely stay
Filter
Updating list...
434 - 439 of 1,529 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2016

We spent a lovely three night break at the best western Royal beach. The room was very comfortable with all the thing you would expect in a hotel room, plus a wonderful panoramic sea view. The breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of quality produce to choose from. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Didn't use the car park as we traveled by train, which worked very well as all amenities are within walking distance, or a short bus ride. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are a little more expensive, but well worth the money
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank pete1232015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Thank you for a good review of the Hotel and Team and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and the sea views, we hope you stay with us again, best wishes, Chris Gilmore GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Lovely friendly and helpful employees, nice bar and restaurant, smashing little room. Absolutely charming. There's something really English about a place like this. The big impressive fittings, the uniforms, the wonderful service, big lounges with big sofas. Loved it.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
2  Thank NaonedMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Thank you for a good review of the Hotel and Team, sometimes Old fashioned and English works and I am pleased you enjoyed the experience, best wishes, Chris Gilmore GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016

We stayed here for one night. Arrived late afternoon and were told that we had been upgraded to a sea view room at no extra cost. We were directed to the car park at the rear of the hotel and parked ok, albeit a little tight in places. Ideally situated for a lovely walk along the seafront and into Southsea. Our room was large an spacious, and the bed very comfortable. We ate in the restaurant in the evening. We were told we could mix and match from the carvery, bar menu and a la carte menu, which we did. Food very good, service very friendly and attentive. After a good nights sleep we had breakfast. Again, service was friendly and efficient. The food was good and there was plenty of choice. Would stay again if in the area, and would look at outher Great Western hotels in other places.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Thank you for a good review of the hotel and Team and I am pleased you found the Best Western experience enjoyable, best wishes, Chris Gilmore GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2016

I went to this victorian built hotel with my parents to celebrate their wedding anniversary. This hotel is situated next to the south parade pier that was closed for repairs during our stay, which we did not mind so much as it was very peaceful and relaxing for all of us. At first, there is a misunderstanding as we hoped to get a sea-view, but because it was a late booking and it was done via an agency, we were unaware that there is a £15 advance payments fee for a sea-view. We could not get this as all were taken so tom, the person who helped us at checkin offered a room close to the lift and provided a room with a partial sea-view. He also helped provide a room for him to be near my parents. Their room by the lift was very useful as they have mobility issues. The double bed were partly soft and comfortable and provided a good sleep for us after our long drive from Sandhurst. The bathrooms were great and I liked the sea kelp shampoos and gels provided that gave a mild orangey smell. The only drawback is the small car park at the back of the hotel and there is only 1 disabled bay
placed right by the entrance and exit. Steering and manoeuvring in this car park is very stressful, especially if you have a larger car and it is all on a first come, first serve basis that makes finding a parking space very tricky to find. There are so other car parks available, but charges apply. If coming to Portsmouth and Southsea, it is best to use the bus via park and ride because their prices are much better compared to car parking alone. Breakfast can be included in the booking that comes in a buffet located in their restaurant, the ark royal. Breakfast food in here is great but you have to pay an extra £2.50 for kippers and smoked haddock as well as breakfast delivered using room service. We also had dinner here too, I had scampi and chips and a chocolate tart for dessert. This food comes from the Illustrious bar but you can also have it at the Ark Royal restaurant as well. Ark Royal lunch and dinner is a la carte and it is very pricey. Sometimes it is best to have dinner at the bar or restaurants outside, although you may have to drive to get there. Overall our stay in this 3 star hotel has been very pleasant, the staff despite their accents were very friendly, helpful and understanding. If you are not on a tight budget and just want to have a relaxing time eating ice-cream and viewing the sea, then this is the hotel for you. Children are also welcome here and the rocky beach is very close to the hotel. Sorry but you will not find any sandy beaches here. This hotel has much historical background and there is much to see and do in the surrounding area. If you need anything specific, it is best that you contact the hotel directly in advance, even before you even make a booking here. My elderly parents enjoyed their stay very much and I am honoured to have shared it with them.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are close to the lifts, but for sea-view you will need to pay extra in advance.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Souro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Thank you for a comprehensive review of the Hotel, Team and surrounding area. I am really pleased you all had a wonderful stay and hope you are able to visit us again soon, best wishes, Chris Gilmore, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

I stayed for 3 nights in August with my elderly mother. Room was spotlessly clean and well ventilated so stayed cool despite heat outside. All staff very helpful. We ate in the hotel and food was delicious. Would definitely come again. Wonderful sea views too!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager99, General Manager at Best Western Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Thank you for a great review of the hotel and Team, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you return soon, best wishes, Chris Gilmore GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews