We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out - amazing variety of things to do - and shopping too!”
Review of Gunwharf Quays

Gunwharf Quays
Book In Advance
More Info
US$46.96*
and up
Brighton and Portsmouth Day Trip from Oxford
Ranked #15 of 94 things to do in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 3 May 2018

A full day of things to do. All the brand names you visit an outlet mall for are here, along with a huge variety of places to eat and attractions to visit for all the family. Central location, easy to find car parking and next to Portsmouth Historic Dockyard, with HMS Victory and HMS Warrior to go aboard. If only there were more hours in the day.

Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay W, Guest Relations Manager at Gunwharf Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Dear Michael B

Thank you very much for your lovely review, we were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful day at Gunwharf Quays and while exploring the local attractions.

We do have new brands arriving throughout the year and some great events planned for the summer so please do monitor our website for all the latest news, updates and offers.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"outlet shops"
in 132 reviews
"great shopping"
in 128 reviews
"spinnaker tower"
in 359 reviews
"ralph lauren"
in 52 reviews
"great place to shop"
in 50 reviews
"shopping experience"
in 47 reviews
"bowling alley"
in 33 reviews
"shop till you drop"
in 27 reviews
"jack wills"
in 24 reviews
"christmas shopping"
in 25 reviews
"lots of shops"
in 51 reviews
"retail therapy"
in 51 reviews
"high street"
in 48 reviews
"vue cinema"
in 30 reviews
"plenty of places to eat"
in 53 reviews
"watch the boats"
in 31 reviews
"eating places"
in 29 reviews
Filter

261 - 265 of 2,565 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2018

I will start of by telling you that i have just started working at this venue and by no means am i making up this review.

I have visited Gunwharf Quays on lots of occasions as Portsmouth is my home town,
Now where can i start Gunwharf is for all kinds of people young/old couples singles It has a VUE cinema with about 12 screens showing films till the early hours a night life not to be missed includes lots of restaurants, night clubs, a casino, bars and lots of high level shops with below average high street prices.
The Views over the solent are amazing with plenty of seating, And not forgetting the spinnaker Tower Which will give you even more fabulous Views all round and not just over the Solent,
Gunwharf got it name and it used to be a navel yard for mine sweeper,s and layers.
car parking is good most of the time unless there is heave traffic when you drive into the 1500 space car park you will see green and red lights above you indicating vacant car parking spaces so no more driving around for ages looking for space.

I would !00% say it is a must for all.....

Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay W, Guest Relations Manager at Gunwharf Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Dear Paul R

Thank you very much for your review, we hope you are settling into your new position at Gunwharf Quays and we appreciate you taking the time to share you recommendations.

We are indeed very lucky to have such a wonderful waterside location and with so much to do in and around our centre, there is always something for everyone to enjoy.

If we can ever be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to call into Guest Relations and see us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

Gunwharf is a very clean and modern shopping precinct with a variety of shops aimed at all ages. There is a great choice of restaurants, a cinema and bowling alley. Can easily spend a day here and lots of £££. The toilets are very very clean, there is always someone about if there is a problem. 5 minute walk to bus, ferry and train. The only downside is alot of the clothes shops are aimed at slimmer people, could do with a bit more variety there! The millennium walk leads to gunwharf, do if you visit... You must do the walk!

Thank Alllm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay W, Guest Relations Manager at Gunwharf Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Dear Alllm

Thank you very much for sharing your experience, we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your day with us.

There is indeed lots to do here and we agree that the Millennium walk from Gunwharf Quays around to the Seafront is a nice way to explore the local area.

With new brands arriving and some exciting events planned for the summer, there is always and excuse to visit us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

Easy to park but not cheap. Use park and ride which stops a few minutes walk away. Alternatively park in Gosport and use ferry, which is a great way to get to Gunwharf. Lots of shops, but does get busy so would recommend going when shops open. Always a queue at toilets by pasty shop,but better facilities beside Boots.

Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay W, Guest Relations Manager at Gunwharf Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Dear Sarah O

Thank you for your review and recommendations, we were so pleased to note that you had a good day with us.

We agree with your suggestion and also highly recommend Park and Ride. It is indeed a great way to beat any city traffic during peak times and as you use the ferry, you will know that we also have the newly opened Portsmouth Harbour Bus and Train Hub right next door.

We hope that you found lots of great offers while shopping and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2018

My visit didn't start well, having to sit in a traffic queue for around 45 minutes to park my car. From other reviews on this site this would appear to be not uncommon.

The outlet shops here seem to cater for wannabes and those with more money than sense. If you feel that shopping for overpriced frocks is a good use of your time and money then you will be in heaven here. Otherwise, head for the Dockyard and see world class examples of naval history.

Thank AstroBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay W, Guest Relations Manager at Gunwharf Quays, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Dear AstroBloke

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback and were of course disappointed to hear that you were delayed in traffic, the roads can indeed become busy during peak times. However if you are happy to use public transport, we highly recommend the Park and Ride as it stops right outside our centre.

We do have new brands arriving throughout the year so it is always worth monitoring our website for the latest news and updates. As you note once at Gunwharf Quays there is plenty to see and we agree that our neighbour The Historic Dockyard provides a wonderful opportunity to explore the local attractions. The Emirates Spinnaker Tower is also a great way to pause and experience an alternative view of the waterfront and Solent.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gunwharf Quays also viewed

 

Been to Gunwharf Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing