We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (467)
Filter reviews
467 results
Traveller rating
264
151
34
14
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
264
151
34
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub historic dockyard queen street secure parking gunwharf quays train station full english breakfast car park portsmouth harbour station five minute walk hms victory shopping centre mary rose clean rooms spinnaker tower friendly hotel sunday lunch
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 467 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

First of all let me say that this is a very old building with decor and plumbing to match! It is also situated on a busy main toad.
That aside we had a really nice stay here. The room was spacious, the bed very comfortable and the shower powerful. There were tea and coffee making facilities and a flat screen TV with good choice of channels.
Breakfast was cooked to order - hot, tasty and plentiful.
You can park at the car park opposite at a discounted rate. We paid £10 for a 2 day pass that allowed us to come and go as we pleased.
I have to give a special mention to the staff who were without exception welcoming and friendly.
The location is convenient for the historic dockyard and Gunwharf Keys.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank MumluvsEeyore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018

My husband and I travevelled to Portsmouth with family. We had a wonderful stay in a very comfortable and clean room. The breakfast each morning was outstanding and we enjoyed our dinner in the restaurant several evenings during our visit. Everyone of the staff was helpful and welcoming. This historic pub was well preserved and cared for by the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilkport, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Thank you for your nice review
Regards
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

We spent three very comfortable nights here. The room was nice, the breeze through the open windows was very good at cooling the room, the bathroom is big, and the bed is comfortable. We kept the windows open and were not bothered by any outside noise at all - our room was at the back. But what makes this place so nice is definitely the staff. They were super friendly and pleasant, going out of their way to make help us with whatever we needed or wanted. Also the location is perfect for walking to the train station, the bus station, the IOW ferries, and the historic dockyards. All the food we had, whether breakfast or dinner, was delicious.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LaraS322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

Booked The George because it was so handy for the Historic docks the main gate being a short walk from the hotel. We returned from France late evening feeling weary and pulled up outside The George on a hot summer night where we were greeted by a very pleasant member of staff who carried our bags to the room for my wife, whilst I parked the car in a secure car park a short easy walk away.

The George retains the atmosphere of a traditional English Pub with a bar area where locals can sit and drink, whilst offering a very pleasant well run hotel for tourists.

The bedroom was large, clean and very well equipped even with a cooling fan for the hot weather. A comfortable double king size bed provided a good nights sleep and the on suit clean and well maintained.

Breakfast was relaxed and the staff very pleasant and efficient, food was excellent and the dinning room full of interesting pictures capturing the history of Portsmouth.

Evening meal again was extremely good, a fine menu, well cooked food and lovely friendly staff.

We had booked two nights and felt very comfortable and made very welcome at The George.

This is a great place to stay and we will go back to explore more of Portsmouth.

Room Tip: I booked by phone and asked advice for a quiet room. Receptionist helpful and we were not disappointed.
Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Wilfrids-Adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilkport, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Thank you for such a lovely review.
Regards
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018

An overnight stop but what a surprise. Just a short walk from the new bus terminus. Very friendly and helpful reception and a surprisingly spacious and very comfortable upper room.
Very good Sunday lunch and excellent breakfast. As we had a late return trip home we were able to leave our cases at the hotel.
We will come to the George again.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cmortley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilkport, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Thank you for your nice review
Regards
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews