We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location and very comfortable”

Review of The Stables

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Miettemeg
England
Level 4 Contributor
1 review
“Great location and very comfortable”
Reviewed 11 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Excellent accommodation and location, very quiet. It is quite an adventure to get to The Stables on a rainy day but we made it!
Simon and Julie were really friendly and gave us all the information we needed for our short stay. From the outside the accommodation looks like a big shed, but don't let this put you off as inside it's great. Nice, clean, comfortable and very warm - even when the heating is off.
There was everything we needed in the small kitchen but with such nice pubs in the area we didn't do much cooking... it was a holiday after all!
We would definitely consider going back to The Stables for another visit to the New Forest.
Thank you for a great stay and sorry we forgot to sign the visitor's book. :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nice and cosy, excellent location.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mytonman
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Julie and Simon are wonderful hosts. The cottage is very comfortable and cosy, we soon got used to the visiting chickens and our own two dogs were soon settled in and to be truthful we did not want to come home after our two week stay. The farm shop is only a short distance away with plenty of choice to throw on the bbq. We are definitely returning next year.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa C
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A little bit of heaven.”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have been visiting The Stables for the last three years with our dog Jack. We all love staying there. Jack loves the New Forest and the freedom he has. The people we have met while we are there are always very friendly and welcoming. Julie and Simon who own The Stables are real smashers and make our stay such a pleasure. We shall certainly be going back in 2016.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: Can't think of anything apart from having to return home.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosieSout...
South Wales
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect getaway for me and my dogs”
Reviewed 5 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you to Julie and Simon for going the extra mile! Immaculate property, lovely environment, nothing too much trouble, will be back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark T
Partridge Green, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal base for walking in the new forrest”
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had the most brilliant stay.... The accommodation was very clean and functional, the bbq patio was well used while we were there. Julie and Simon were there if needed (thank you) and Ralph made sure our dog left no food lying around (thank you Ralph). Natalie and the local Huskies made for great entertainment first thing in the morning and in the evening. We cannot wait to do it all again....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, but mostly the walking
Liked least: Thursday......It rained!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing