We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great house with lovely thoughtful touches”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Brackenwood

Brackenwood, Burley Village, The New Forest
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Brackenwood, Burley Village, The New Forest
Courtyard Garden Forest walks start from just outside the gate
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
Brackenwood, Burley Village, The New Forest
Courtyard Garden
Forest walks start from just outside the gate
Front Garden
Entrance Lobby Room
Downstairs Cloakroom
Lounge / Diner
Lounge / Diner
Kitchen
Exterior Utility Room - with dog showering facility
Double Bedroom
Twin bedroom can be converted to kingsize if preferred
Bathroom has separate corner power shower
Woods opposite Brackenwood
Burley
Burley Village View 1
Burley Village view 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Megan8bd
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great house with lovely thoughtful touches”
Reviewed 9 November 2015 for a stay in November 2013

I stayed here with my partner, my mother and her dog. The house is wonderful - as a holiday rental I hadn't expected it to be so big or well equipped and comfy. But it was great - spacious, lovely warmth coming from the Aga style oven which made you feel at home as soon as you walked in, thoughtful touches like blankets in the lounge to curl up of an evening, and dog bowls for furry friends, very well equipped kitchen, comfy beds, fun board games, the list goes on.
The location was perfect for us, with the lovely village of Burley being on your doorstep, with tea rooms and pubs within a 5 minute stroll, and a nice bit of wood directly opposite.
Go check out the deer park behind the Burley Manor, and make use of the great folders in the lounge recommending places to go and things to do.
Would like to come here every Autumn!

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2015
What a lovely review, thank you so much and we are delighted that you enjoyed everything we have tried to put in at Brackenwood to make it have the lovely homely feel we seem to have achieved. We look forward to welcoming you back next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harvey g
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable & relaxing, great location”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. A lovely property in a great location for wider exploration of the area. No issues with the service or facilities, everything we needed was there. Didn't realise Halloween was such a big thing in the village, so Saturday's celebrations and parade came as a welcome added bonus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
Thank you for your review and delighted that all went so well. We are really fortunate with our location and Burley Village, although so small and quaint does always have things going on. We hope to see you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fionavalo...
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great house,Really enjoyed our stay.”
Reviewed 16 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed for a long weekend and having the rayburn was a bonus,to get up in the morning to a warm house was great,and to be able to put dinner in the oven and then go out for the day and come home to a meal,only we could have done with a larger casserole dish,but thats my fault for not taking one.
All in all we had a great time,lovely house,great area and the weather was good.
We dont have a dog,but this would be ideal for dog owners,wash room for dogs is a good size.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Rayburn,Living room was cosy and as it should be.
Liked least: That shower,but there was so much hot water,nothing to stop you having a bath.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2015
Great to read all your comments within your kind review and pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Thank you also for taking time to tell dog owners how ideal it would be for them too, even when you don't have a dog. We really appreciate getting feedback through the review system so thank you and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kazshsz
1 review
“Just perfect.”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Really lovely place to stay. Would happily stay there again. Great communication from day one. Lovely part of the world.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2015
It is always so appreciated when our Visitors review us so thank you very much. Particularly delighted that you enjoyed your time both at Brackenwood and in the New Forest so much as we know it was a very special stay for you this time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brenda522
Stevenage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“comfortable,cosy and in a lovely village.”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was very cosy and well equipped, the village was small and busy it was also very laid back. The various shops were quirky and many did not open until 10ish!!, we found the pubs very welcoming and dog friendly. The food in the pubs was very good we had a very good holiday in a lovely area and will definately return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: busy roads through village
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2015
I don't think there's much more we can add to that! Thank you for such a lovely review and we're delighted you enjoyed not only Brackenwood but Burley Village and all it's quaintness too. We look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing