We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect in every way relaxing holiday home”

Review of Monks Mill Barn

Monks Mill Barn in its beautiful Cotswolds surroundings
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Monks Mill Barn in its beautiful Cotswolds surroundings
Don't miss this when you're trying to find us! The garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Monks Mill Barn in its beautiful Cotswolds surroundings
Don't miss this when you're trying to find us!
The garden
The barn from the cottage
Beautiful Cotswold views
Guests will have private use of a large garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Wotton-under-Edge, Stroud District, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
EntropyRe...
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect in every way relaxing holiday home”
Reviewed 20 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Absolutely perfect. The house itself was stunning, beautiful, luxurious soft furnishings, spotlessly clean and fitted with everything you could possibly need.

The board games hidden in the coffee table were particularly great for our two children. My personal favorites were the extremely comfortable bed, all the Voyage fabrics (as someone who works in the fabric industry, this was lovely to see that no expense had been spared on making this a truly stunning home), and the super fast dishwasher!

The grounds were beautiful, huge lawned garden and completely surrounded by fields. It was very much away from everything, but we did see people occasionally walking the public footpaths in the distance etc, so we didn't feel completely isolated!

Stephy was wonderful, although we didn't meet her, she answered queries quickly and we felt certain she would be willing to drop everything and come round if we needed help with anything - so a completely perfect holiday home host in our view!

The welcome hamper was the best we've ever had. We always stop at a supermarket on our way to a holiday let, but on this occasion, we really needn't have. Bread, jams, orange juice, cake, coffee, milk.. everything you'd need to leave the shopping until the following day.

I really couldn't find fault with anything at all.. I just wish we could have stayed longer!

We'll definitely be staying again in future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
Dear Suzanne,
Thank you so much for your kind words, they are truly appreciated. We are so pleased you and your family enjoyed Monks Mill Barn and its surroundings. A lot of time has gone into the barn to make it as comfortable and homely as possible, so it is so lovely to read a review such as yours, it makes it all so much more worth while! We really look forwards to welcoming you and your family back to the barn in the near future.
Best wishes, Stephy and the Monks Mill Barn Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
williamar...
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Stunning accommodation with equally stunning views”
Reviewed 29 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We have arrived home from just spending 2 wks at the barn. Chrissie, myself & our dogs Ollie & Poppy are feeling miserable and wish we was back there. This is first class accommodation, it has everything you can wish for and more. The welcome pack provides you with lots of items and is appreciated after a long journey.. If you want a location with stunning views, great walks,cycling or just total relaxation, then this is definitely the place for you.. You have nothing around you other than sheep as your neighbours, we seen so much wildlife, we even had deers running in the field opposite the barn. This was our second visit to the barn and will certainly not be our last. Thanks Stephy for making our stay so wonderful & memorable..

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2017
Dear Bill, Chrissie, Ollie and Poppy.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such lovely words, it is much appreciated. I´m so pleased you enjoyed returning to the barn. Its always such a pleasure to have you, your so friendly and easy going guests. You and your lovely family are more then welcome and we look forwards to welcoming you back soon!
Best wishes,
Stephy and the MMB Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david b
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent quality barn in perfect location”
Reviewed 3 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This is an excellent barn in a perfect location. All the the little touches, lovely welcome pack everything you need here for the ideal holiday. Excellent location to visit the local area. Try Sunday lunch at the Gumstool Inn - very good meal.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2017
Dear David,
Thank you so much for your kind words, we are so pleased you enjoyed your time at Monks Mill Barn. And enjoyed both the barn and the area surrounding it! We hope to see you again in the near future. Best wishes, Stephy and the MMB Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
williamar...
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Absolutely Stunning”
Reviewed 19 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed two week's at Monks Mill Barn in Oct this year, and already booked to return next year and can't wait. The barn is absolutely gorgeous & superb with quality furnishing and stunning views. We were delighted to receive a generous welcome hamper of local produce which we enjoyed very much.

This property is in a great location for touring the area with lots of attractions for people who like historic buildings and villages. The barn is a lovely relaxing place and Stephy really has thought of everything. Whilst the property is secluded, there are lots of footpaths very close by, including the Cotswold Way.

We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Monks Mill Barn, as it is one of the best self catering properties we have stayed in, hence why we booked it again whilst staying at the Barn this year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views & it being secluded
Liked least: Nothing it was all OK
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2016
Dear Bill,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review, and such a stella review, we really appreciate it! I´m so pleased you and your family enjoyed your time at Monks Mill Barn, it was a pleasure to meet you guys. And we look very much forwards to welcoming you back to the barn in July 2017!
Thanks again and best wishes,
Stephy and the Team at Monks Mill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke s
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Peace & Tranquillity at its finest”
Reviewed 13 November 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Monks Mill Barn is exceptional throughout, a beautifully finished barn within peaceful surroundings, with the odd sheep here and there! If you want to trek up to Bourton on the Water to visit the Motor Museum or travel to Bath to see the Roman Baths, the location of the barn is ideal as a base location for venturing out. Definitely recommend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2016
Dear Luke,
Thank you so much for taking out the time to write Monks Mill Barn a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time here, and found it was the perfect base for exploring local landmarks! We hope to see you again sometime,
Kind Regards, The Monks Mill Barn Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing