We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family Friendly Home with Helpful Owners”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sherwood

Sherwood
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sherwood
Dining Hall Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Sherwood
Dining Hall
Living Room
Kitchen looking towards Dining Hall
Kitchen looking towards garden
Bedroom 1 with ensuite Bathroom
Bedroom 1 looking towards ensuite bathroom
Ensuite Bathroom
Bedroom 2 with Bathroom
Bedroom 3 with Shower Room
Bedroom 4 Four Poster with bathroom
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 5 with Wet Room
Wetroom
Bedroom 5
Sherwood Terrace
Cottage Garden
Courtyard in the spring
Pool
Kellogg - CEO Egg Production
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Tetbury, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Julie G
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family Friendly Home with Helpful Owners”
Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

On arrival at the cottage - Beth showed us the cottage and discussed the pool times as the weather was sunny and warm. She was very flexible about when we could use it providing it was not in use at the time for which we were grateful for.

The layout and accommodation was well suited for our family needs of up to 9 people.

The cottage was very homely and well equipped, The grandchildren had great fun playing hide and seek as there were plenty of nooks and crannies.

The pub down the road was very user friendly and even helped us out with some gravy granules on our first night.

Plenty of dog walking on the door step and amazingly well keep footpaths.

All in all we all had a lovely week, - Thank you Beth for being so helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and cotttage size
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay had by all”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Sherwood for 4 Nights for a family wedding near by, we were a group of 8 Adults and 3 children, the cottage was perfect for our stay it was very homely and extremely well equipped even to a large box of toys for the children and a swimming pool in the garden,the cottage was large enough not to be on top of each other, the owner was very helpful nothing was too much trouble, beautiful village location with a typical Cotswold pub within walking distance serving excellent food.
Would happily stay there again, thank you Beth.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly owner, size of cottage, great location.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OLeary1
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice part of the Cotswolds”
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for a family get together - with 4 of us travelling to the UK from Sydney. The cottage was large and provided ample space for 9 people. Although the information says it can sleep 12, this requires use of the sofa in the sitting room. Probably not a comfortable option for a stay of a week. We were going to have 11 or 12 adults for the week but when I clarified the bedding configuration with the owner via email we realised that we would need to use the sofa bed. So we went to plan b and shared the week between two of the couples each staying 3 nights each.

My impression of the overall quality is in agreement with a previous reviewer - although a lovely cottage it was not 4 star. The furniture is looking a bit shabby and generally could do with some redecorating and spring cleaning. Having said all this, we still had a great time together. I will summarise our experience by looking at the pros and cons from our perspective.
Pros:
Nice, quiet village. Good base for that part of the Cotswolds. Near Highgrove and the National Aboretum.
Pub down the road is handy for a drink but the food isn't great. Recommend the Horse Guards pub at Brokenborough - lovely people and food. I have updated the black information book with the new menu. I think the information book should be kept up to date for the visitors.
Plenty of space and comfortable beds.
Kitchen well equipped. Dishwasher tablets and washing machine powder provided.
Plenty of bathrooms and hot water.
Pool was enjoyed despite the restrictive hours on the weekend.

Cons:
There was no 'welcome pack' provided (small basket of milk, tea, coffee, biscuits etc.) Especially appreciated when you have travelled straight from Heathrow after a long haul flight - which sometimes would be the case. It was the first cottage we have stayed in that this was not provided.
There was a used bar of soap in one ensuite and no hand soap in another.
One towel per person provided. I think two pp should be provided for a week.
The weather was quite warm during our stay so a top sheet would be good in summer as the doona / duvet was too hot to use and you need a light cover.
Wifi reception is not great except for one spot in the dining room. Maybe a booster would help?
Outside the BBQ is old and rusty - so we didn't use it but would have liked too.
The gardener came into the back garden one afternoon to doing some pruning. We had been told this would happen when we arrived.This should be done between rentals as I think you should not be disturbed during your holiday.
Outdoor area could do with a good sweep up and cleaning around the back door.
The recycling was detailed and we are more than used to doing this However, I am not sure why they recycle the paper and then burn it? It was quite unpleasant when the burning off took place.
The garbage bins etc are near the back door of the cottage and in summer the smell was not good. I think these should be moved to another place.
The morning we left the cleaners arrived before 10am and Beth popped in about 945 am to see if all was ok. We were about to leave but felt a bit rushed and would have liked those last minutes to say our goodbyes without feeling that we had to rush out.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2015
It is always good to have some feedback on our cottage, even if it is sometimes negative.

We have read through this guest’s concerns and we have already addressed some of them.

We do not provide a ‘welcome pack’ but are very happy to give our guests tea/coffee and milk if needed and we also supply eggs from our hens when they are in lay.

We always provide guests with a hospitality pack of soap, shampoo, body wash and body lotion. I am very surprised that one of the bathrooms was missing a bar of soap on this occasion, but we are happy to provide extra supplies if required.

We usually provide one bath towel per person and a hand towel for each bathroom (5). We are happy to provide extra towels if required, at no additional charge, equally we would be happy to provide our clients with sheets rather than duvets if requested.

The barbeque has recently been replaced, and we are in the progress of updating some of our furniture. We have also installed a wifi booster.

Our gardeners come on a Wednesday and if they are wanting to work on the cottage garden we always ask our clients if it would be acceptable to them. The garden was due for some work at this stage and we did ask if it would be ok for us to do the work. We have a team of three so it is usually very efficient.

The bins area is approximately 15 metres from the back door of the cottage. We do try and keep it tidy and fragrant. We feel it would be rather inconvenient if it were further away.

We are always on site and happy to address any requests and problems if raised.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueallenw...
norwich
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

LOVELY COTTAGE BUT NOT A 4 STAR”

I booked this cottage up as it had excellent reviews and the main thing it had was a heated pool. I was about to celebrate my 60th birthday with my family who I don't live near so it was going to be very special for me.
On arrival Beth the owner welcomed us and showed us around, my first impression was that it had loads of character but was not a 4 star and the furniture really wasn't of a high standard as it appeared to be in the photographs.
The kitchen was very well equipt with dishwasher etc and there was a lovely big dinning table for us all to sit around.
The lounge sofas were heavily stained not at all as nice as the photographs and very uncomfortable, however all of the bathrooms were excellent and the beds were extremely comfortable.
Now for the outside, the garden furniture really needed replacing as did the rusty Bar-b-q in fact you simply couldn't use the the barby at all it was so rusty, and the garden also needed some attention it was so over grown.
We had a problem of having no hot water on the Saturday evening which to be fair was promptly put right and we had no further problems with that, However on the sunday we had planned to spend the after noon by the pool.
We were told when we arrived that at the weekends the pool times were from 10am until 1pm but if we wanted to use the pool outside of this time then it wouldn't be a problem, this wasn't mentioned at all on the site I looked on!
Just after 1pm were were told to vacate the pool as they were having people coming to look around the gardens so we had to leave, this really upset me I had paid almost a thousand pounds for 3 nights and couldn't use the pool the grandchildren were upset as they had been so excited by having a pool to play in.
Beth repeated stated that it was on the website about the pool times but the site I was looking at it wasn't mentioned at all, it would appear this property is advertised on a few sites.
Beth did say that if her garden people went early we could go back in the pool but as they didn't go until gone 5 pm it was then too cold as even though it was supposed to be heated it only just took the chill off.
This could be a fabulous place to stay for a large party if they attended to the things I had mentioned and maybe realised that when you advertise that there is a pool, as paying guests they will want to use it during their stay and especially at weekends the three hours allocated is simply not long enough!
None of us felt very welcomed in fact we felt in the way!
we are not difficult people we just wanted family time together to celebrate my special birthday and use the facilities that I had paid for...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2015
I am sorry that this guest felt that our cottage was not up to 4 star standard. We have only just been inspected by Visit Britain, who renewed our four star rating, but I will take on board the criticisms about the sofa covers and barbeque. We renew the sofas on a regular basis and will look into replacing them later this year. The barbeque will also be replaced. Overgrown is rather my style of gardening, but I will get my secateurs out. We send out details of the pool hours with all booking confirmations and we are happy for guests to use the pool outside those hours, but it is by arrangement only. On this particular day we had an Open Gardens Day in our village from 2pm to 6pm, and so there were a lot of visitors passing through the pool area all afternoon. We always do our very best to make guests feel welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise F
Haversham
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“More than we could have hoped for!”
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Finding accomodation for 12 - from 2 to 64 years - is always difficult but Sherwood comfortably housed all of us. Each family had their own bedroom and bathroom (which we have never found before) and we had an amazing 40th birthday week away. The dining room was perfect for our surprise dinner and the hosts were fantastic at being so close for any queries or help but also for leaving us to our own company. We visited The Cat and Custard Pot regularly and felt so at home, children too. Having only visited the Cotswolds for day trips as its not too far away, we were surprised at how much there was to see on our doorstep. It was also a much needed relaxing break for us all and we are hoping to visit again for another family get together very soon. Thank you so much - missing you already.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing