We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming barn”
other travellers have booked this property
Heath Barn from the Bluebell Wood in springtime.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Heath Barn from the Bluebell Wood in springtime.
Heath Barn from the pony field with autumn colours. View from sitting area towards dining table and kitchen.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Heath Barn from the Bluebell Wood in springtime.
Heath Barn from the pony field with autumn colours.
View from sitting area towards dining table and kitchen.
View from kitchen towards dining and sitting areas.
View into sitting area with Clearview log fire in action.
View of Barn across the terrace.
Daffodils in bloom around the Barn.
Master bedroom with view into en-suite bathroom.
Main ensuite bathroom for master bedroom.
View from gallery towards kitchen area beneath.
Extra fifth single bed on gallery.
Second Bedroom which also has its own ensuite bathroom.
Guest en suite bathroom towards bath area.
Close up View of Barn.
Fresh bluebells in the wood.
View from Master Bedroom towards the Bluebell Wood.
View from Master Bathroom through glass 17th Century peep hole!
View from dining area in barn out towards our farm.
Christmas decorations.
Laid up for a special event showing off its generous space!
View from second master bedroom over our farm beyond.
Main gates to our front drive on the Foss-Way between Stow and Moreton.
Looking through the trees skywards!
Spring lambs and sheep to greet you on the front drive.
Cheltenham Racecourse at The Festival Meeting in March, only 16 miles west of us.
Warwick Castle situated half an hour north of us.
Historic Oxford, just 30 minutes to the East of us.
The Cotswolds right on our doorstep!
Medieval Stow-on-the-Wold, 2 miles south, with nice restaurants, shops and pubs.
Fun Bourton-on-the-Water with lots to see and do, only 5 miles to the south.
Famous Arlington Row in Bibury, lies 25 minutes to the south east.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MNTravele...
Edina, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Such a shame - poor cleaning let down a beautiful location”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Heath Barn is so perfectly situated and offered by such a friendly host that this is a difficult review to write. I do feel, however, that it's only fair to warn future travelers about the cleanliness.

The property itself would be perfect - very charming and a great size with two loft bedrooms and baths, room for four guests, kitchen, spacious dining room, beautiful stone building, etc. - but the state of the property when we arrived was appalling. I had to spend significant time cleaning the toilets before my kids could use the bathrooms, and even after I used my Clorox wipes around the bases of the toilets, the smell was still unpleasant.

I also cleaned the kitchen countertops, which came up dirty on the rag. We also had to thoroughly wash the few dishes we dared to use, as they were dusty and, in some cases, inhabited by dead bugs. Mr. Mander had warned us of the flies before we went in, explaining that it is a farm and that flies are to be expected. We were prepared for a few flies around the property . . . but not for the dozens of dead flies left on the floors and counters after the apparent spraying that had been applied. There was also an old strip of well-used flypaper hanging in the bedroom our daughter used. I cleaned up as many of the bugs as I could to make my family happy, but it gave the overall impression of a dirty camp cabin.

I tried to peek in on our hosts a few times during our three-day stay, but we didn't see them after we checked in on day one, so I wasn't able to share about the cleaning. Again, I want to emphasize that our hosts were very friendly upon check-in, and I'm sorry to leave this review, but the issue is that we paid quite a premium for the barn, treating ourselves to the most expensive stay of our three-week trip. The pictures led us to believe that we'd have an idyllic stop in the Cotswolds that would be worth the price; instead, we chose to spend as little time as possible in our rooms and were relieved to get to our next stop. I'm hoping that the hosts will address the cleaning issues for future guests, as this really would be a lovely place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2014
We do not one hundred percent agree. On this occasion we used a different cleaner again who unfortunately came in on the Monday, 4 days before the guests arrived, which did not help, especially on the fly front as there are so many dying in late July/August time. The surfaces in the kitchen would have been wiped down nicely with really good liquids that we have and were then checked but we feel that there has been a degree of over perfectionism here by the client. Regarding the bathroom these again were properly cleaned with extra strong chemicals and nice smelling colorizes. As stated there is a problem with the water hardness and a residue of strong lime scale has built up which is impossible to scrape off. It does appear that it should be removed but this has proved impossible. We can assure everyone that thorough cleaning always takes place in the bathrooms. The main everyday cutlery is always cleaned and checked, but more emphasis may have to be taken with additional items which are not used to check these too are dust free. It does not help that the kitchen is so really well stocked with accessories. We will make sure these additional items are checked too in future. I’m afraid that the cleaner on this occasion was obviously not up to it and we will insure that this never happens again. There are so many nice comments in our Holiday Let visitors book and it is such a shame that these comments (due to everyone’s busy lifestyles in part) do not appear on Trip Advisor .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBooks201...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming barn”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed there with another couple of friends (There are 2 en-suite bedrooms). Nice size of kitchen/dining area plus sitting room. It is not facing any road, so quiet in the evening surrounded by fields and woods, however not far away from Moreton-in-Marsh and Stow which are convenient to do shopping. It's a charming barn suitable either for couple or family which has been well restored but keeps it's rural atmosphere and has its own garden. It's not like staying in smart modern hotel but that is part of its attraction. Depends of course on what you are looking for but we will be happy to stay there again.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Mar 2014
Thank you Christopher and Yuri for your nice comments, and we hope very much to welcome you back at Heath Barn in the near future for a repeat. With best wishes from all The Mander Family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location & Dog Friendly Garden
Liked least: Lack of cleaning
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Mar 2014
This complaint is really unfortunate in that on this occasion we used a different cleaner to the usual contract one’s due to us being away and it being too complicated to brief them properly and organise access. I’m afraid that the cleaner on this occasion was obviously not up to it and we will insure that this never happens again.
In normal circumstances the barn is always cleaned to a very high standard and we also go round double checking everything after they leave.
With regard to the television the plan is to replace this for a nice flat screen model any day now.
I do not understand the comment about the furniture being tired as many of these are antiques and would really be spoilt if we replaced them with modern pieces. The barn was redecorated last season but the problem is on the stairways that receive hard traffic when guests move baggage around and need touching up again which will be seen to. Most of the walls are in fact stone and cannot be decorated.
On the tea and coffee cup situation there are at least 12 cups of a nice china variety. We will however add to this collection some more basic coffee mugs to be kept on a spindle at surface top level.
On the baths these are slipper for one gallery bedroom and we have a large cast iron one in the main en suite bathroom and these are not designed to have shower curtains, but instead to hand hold the shower handle piece in a more traditional way.
There is some hanging space and plenty of hangers, but due to the roof lines there is not room for large wardrobes. Instead there are two large chest of drawers in each bedroom. The master bedroom has its own wardrobe. The guest bedroom a smaller one.
On the state of the drive, all the potholes have now been filled, which as you can imagine were caused by the recent severe weather conditions.
It is unfortunate that we were unable to talk to the tenants when we returned from abroad, though we tried to have a chat as they were driving past one day to see if everything was all right.
It is not correct that the barn costs over £1,600. The only reason for the high season prices is that we have to keep in tandem with our main agent www.cotages4you . Usually we offer very good last minute deals from £70 per night if you take a week.
The Barn offers twice the square footage of other locations in the area being approximately 1,500 square foot.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing