We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (694)
Filter reviews
694 results
Traveller rating
355
181
90
47
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
355
181
90
47
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glass shelf oldest pub in england the pub limited parking lovely old pub roll top bath feature room superior room lovely lunch eggs benedict bar area main restaurant street parking lamb wine list lovely room attention to detail
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 694 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

We stayed at The Porch House for a wedding and stayed in Room 1 and I was certainly not disappointed. The bedroom was amazing with a quality bath up the stairs. This room is the one you want if you like lots of space. It might be a little more pricey than the others but it is worth it. The staff were really friendly and breakfast was nice. The only issue was that they didn’t serve a Bloody Mary on a Sunday until 12pm!! Lol... Lovely place!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Sunshine61781115454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018

The Porch house oozes with character. And Lots of nooks and crannies !!
We were very greatfully upgraded to a most beautiful room right at the top. Very peaceful and quite and romantically set out. Also spotlessly clean!The bathroom was lovely and plenty of hot water... the hairdryer not so good , not hot and would take my own next time.
My only slight criticism is it was very difficult to find anyone to talk to , or in charge. Lots of staff but it seemed no managers around. It would have been nice to have been greeted and at the end of our stay it was the same again, hard to find anyone.
I messed up my booking at the beginning and have been extremely greatful not to have been charged twice, so many thanks for that!
I would definitely stay again and would love the same room No8 ...I think?,
Thankyou and keep the same standards of the room , it was lovely

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank tracy h h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018 via mobile

We had booked to see The Searchers at nearby St Edwards Church and decided to spend one night in Stow on the Wold. We originally booked online to stay at the Sheep Hotel (across the road) in their £90 "cosy" room. Upon arrival at The Sheep we were told there was a problem with our room so we had been upgraded to their sister hotel across the road..The Porch. We were told we were in one of their "Feature Rooms". There is no lift but a very nice gentleman carried our case upstairs to room 8. Wow...what a surprise. Th room was fabulous. Full of old beams, Espresso coffee machine,bottled water, tea making facilities, tv and Roberts radio. The en suite bathroom had a large free standing roll top bath, a seperate double shower and the biggest washbasin along with toiletries and crisp white towels. The bed was very cosy. We didn't have breakfast there as we had to go across the road to The Sheep for that....and it was delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to stay again.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018

The location of The Porch House is quaint and historic. We walked in and immediately felt comfortable and welcome. There are no elevators, so be prepared to get your baggage up the narrow stairs, but our room was very inviting and cozy once we got up there. The bathroom had a claw foot tub, which must be taken advantage of, or if you are not into that, there is a shower. We enjoyed a delicious dinner in the main dining room with history all around us, just amazing. The bed was the most comfortable bed we had slept on during our 2 week journey between Ireland and England, no joke, we didn't want to get out of bed. We will definitely back to The Porch House...Thank you!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Escape57932849862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2018

Myself and my partner stayed at the porch house for our anniversary and had a really lovely time. The room was a good value for money, the room was a little small but big enough for our short stay. The location is great, and the interiors and bar in the hotel are very cosy and comfortable

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews