We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveller rating
129
85
55
18
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
129
85
55
18
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hyde barn irish lady family wedding buffet style large room minute drive short break food was lovely family room duck tea and coffee fosse cotswolds stow
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 293 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed here as part of wedding party and wedding was very nice as was meal. Drinks v overpriced. Grounds nice too with field with cows in next door. We didnt check in before wedding as assumed not open...after main drinks over went to where thought reception would be to find area locked up...another guest heard me trying door and let me in only to find area deserted with no signs stating what to do...so went back to wedding and asked staff who said to go to bar...got key and brief breakfast 0830-0930....nothing in room to give u info on where this might be...room large and nicely decorated..bed a little soft and pillows too but comfy enough. Bathroom large but only one small towel by sink so nothing to dry hair.
Breakfast was a fast with everyone piling in together and wouldnt have been 2 seats together if my partner had come down too. Food was nice but a buffet style. Plates taken away as last mouthful eaten...1 hr to feed all rooms not long
It seems noone from hotel reads these comments as has been same sort of issues for years and nothing improves.
1 - clearer info on checkin and if reception unmanned a note on door stating what to do
2- in room info to tell u of arrangements and inform of free wifi that didnt need a code
3- enough small towels to match guests

In summary nice venue for wedding but if u can stay elsewhere might be better value.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Faye J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

We attended a wedding reception at the Fosse Manor Hotel and stayed over as part of the wedding party. The reception was lovely, with fairy lights romantically placed and a quaint but big enough room for the meals, speeches, etc. The room, however, did leave a lot to be desired. We were placed on the top floor of the main building, and our bedroom was tiny, possessing a small double bed, which wasn't very comfortable at all. The shower was very retro and could not decide whether it wanted to be too hot or too cold. We did notice that it all comes down to whereabouts your room is situated, as our friends rooms were very large and comfortable. I guess we just got the short straw. We still had a lovely day though and weren't in the bedroom long. The breakfast on offer was lovely too.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Toby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

We visited this property, now Hyde House and Barn, for a family wedding.

The venue was great, separate to the main house with accommodation so no noise from the party. It was a little strange that there are no staff on duty in the hotel from early evening until the morning, especially as we were not aware that was the case until we returned to the room at 8 and found the hotel doors locked (you get a key with your room key)

Breakfast in the morning was plentiful and very nice. Buffet style but clean, tidy and bright. Excellent

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

We attended a wedding here recently.

As a wedding venue Hyde House is quaint, light and airy with a lovely backdrop of the rolling countryside of the Cotswolds

However, having stayed the night at the hotel we were left feeling a little dissappointed, as we felt that it did not offer good value for money.

On arrival we were left feeling a little confused. We were approached by one member of staff who took our names and then left us to another staff member of staff who handed us our key and a form to sign but then dissappeared, leaving us with no instruction regarding where our room was or where to locate other facilities such as the breakfast room. It seemed the staff were more interested in securing custom from another couple who were considering the venue for their future wedding. Nevertheless, perhaps the hotel would benefit from having a manned reception desk for more efficient, less chaotic customer service.

Though spacious, the room itself was basic, and lacking in finishing touches we would expect for an £140 a night room. There were three of us staying in the family room however, we were only given two mugs, two glasses and two bath towels. There was no soap or soap dispenser by the sink in the bathroom which we found disturbing and one of the windows didn't close at all leaving us concerned about the security of our room. As well as this, the dust ruffle on the double bed was stained, not a major issue of course, but it did not inspire satisfaction concerning the cleanliness of the room

Breakfast was nice. We were welcomed by a lovely attentive waitress and there was plenty of tea and coffee already on the table. You can help yourselves to juices, a selection of cereals, toast and jams and hot food. The sausage and bacon is a particular highlight, and is clearly good quality produce.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Rooms are overpriced for what they are offering. Cold rooms (no heating available), super early and only hour long breakfast buffet with limited choice. No staff at night to help with issues such as being locked out of the front entrance door. Early check out. If they are so limiting - they shouldn't charge as much as they do.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Yasmin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews