We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (290)
Filter reviews
290 results
Traveller rating
119
89
35
27
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
119
89
35
27
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool room new england four poster bed tuscany room the pub the royal oak pub top floor porridge weekend break exposed beams both mornings century building couple of nights my partner attic room family room spent two nights
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 290 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2018

We stayed here for a couple of nights and were very happy with the Cardynham. Old world charm and well kept, clean and very friendly staff. Good breakfast . Room had evrything we wanted ( at the price ) but was on the small size.Would recommend to anyone.

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

We booked a room on a Friday night so we could be up early for fairford Airshow (30 minuets drive). The early start ment missing breakfast but that was no trouble for the staff.

The room was lovely, not often you get a family room with such character, I did find it smelt of food during the evening from the restaurant below but I guess that can’t be helped when the windows are open on such a hot evening.

It’s a beautiful village, roads are tight but we easily found parking, if we needed a hotel in that area would definitely return.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jeppynparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018 via mobile

First impressions are very important and if the guest house is as unwelcoming and the meals as cold as the owner I spoke to on the telephone who was unbelievably rude. I will not grace this place with my company and spend my well earned money at a more welcome establishment.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

Quaint hotel with themed bedrooms (one has no windows as stated in website). No elevator. No air conditioning. Very comfortable. Breakfast good. Parking is not easy but manageable. The building is old but well cared for. Surrounding area quite pretty. There is a small café up from the hotel around the corner which is great, I cannot remember the name. Villagers are welcoming. It's about an hour to get to Chipping Camden and that area.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jmg1travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

We booked as part of a gift experience that was given to us. The initial contact with the hotel when trying to sort available dates etc was a little frustrating as the gentleman seemed to view the vouchers as an inconvenience. However when we arrived everything was fine. We had the New England room which was very comfortable with a great view over the rooftops from the window. The room had a small seating area at the window. The bathroom is compact but you would expect this in a 14th Century building. The location was ideal for exploring Painswick and with the Royal Oak pub right next door it was ideal for food (should you choose not to use the Bistro) and an evening drink. The only minor issue was the professionalism of the staff - we were treated to an altercation between the owner and a member of staff over breakfast which we found to be strange. The breakfast itself was OK. Parking is at a premium near the hotel so we used the Painswick Centre which is close by as it was off street and reasonably priced (£3.50 for 24 hrs) just get a voucher from reception to display in the car. Would certainly recommend if you are staying in Painswick.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews