We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveller rating
136
94
61
30
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
94
61
30
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews market square olde world secret escapes full english bar menu lovely atmosphere pretty village evening meal country inn family room fish and chips two night stay tea and coffee weekend break sunday lunch cotswolds ale
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 350 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Dined there recently. Not impressed that as they had run out of Sauvignon they suggested another "house wine" in the form of a rioja.....at £9 per glass. Might have been a good idea to mention the price beforehand. Furthermore the wine was "not to my wife's palate".

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank EzekielBracegirdle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

The Bull Hotel is awesome! Located on a quaint village square in an historic building, it’s been completely renovated within the past year and a half. Our room was quirky – we ducked through a low hall doorway to get to our room, and there was under a foot of passageway between the foot of the bed and the wall; however, the antique furnishings are charming, finishes are high quality, and the bathroom was totally up-to-date.

We enjoyed dinner and breakfast in the pub. We struck up interesting conversations with a few locals, and sang “Happy Birthday” with a family celebrating. The service was “friendly and relaxed,” but we were in no hurry and didn’t mind – and our meals were delicious.

Our stay at the Bull Hotel was a definite highlight of our England vacation!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KarlStarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

Visited here on the recommendation of the bed and breakfast proprietor from the village that we were staying in. Bar Menu looked reasonable, so we found a table and although we were advised to order at the bar, a waiter soon appeared and took down our requirements. Bar was spacious, airy, clean and reasonably busy. All staff that we encountered were very friendly and personable.
We ordered a sharing platter to start with which didn't disappoint. Main courses were fish and chips (apparently very tasty) and a BBQ pulled pork bap with french fries and 'slaw. This did slightly disappoint although we did eat it. Having read on the menu that is was a BBQ slow pork I expected a slightly smokey tasting marinade to enhance the meat. Unfortunately, the pork, although nice, tasted as though it was covered in Heinz Tomato sauce. Luckily, I like this sauce. We didn't moan or complain as were happy to eat it as it did taste quite nice, just a bit suprised that it wasn't as it said on the menu. Having said that, we would definitely come back here as the ambience of the place was lovely and its in a beautiful setting with some lovely walks around the village to go on

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, Manager at The Bull Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Dear Sarah M,

Thank you for taking the time to review us here at The Bull Hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay so much. We always appreciate reviews in all forms and so will pass on your comments regarding the BBQ Pulled Pork Bap. We have since altered the wording so thank you for bringing this to our attention.


Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.


Kind Regards,


Andrew Murray
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

Thoroughly enjoyed our short break. Room was wonderful,really great food and the staff so friendly and helpful. A beautiful hotel in a central location, great for travelling around. The hotel has recently been refurbished to a really good standard. I can't fault our stay at all.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank bevboo2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, Manager at The Bull Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Dear bevboo2018,

Thank you for your warm words. We are delighted your stay has proven to be a successful one and we cant wait to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,

Andrew Murray
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

We have just returning from a 2 night stay at The Bull which was booked through Secret Escapes.
Every member of staff we met during our stay was helpful, friendly and always willing to answer our questions. We had one issue during our stay which was resolved quickly by the brilliant staff.
The room was beautiful. Water glasses with a bottle of chilled water was on the bedside table as well as a tray with kettle, mugs, tea and coffee and delicious biscuits. The bathroom was to the same standard as the bedroom with incredible smelling shampoo, conditioner, body wash, hand soap and moisturiser. The bed was also extremely comfortable.
The food was the definite highlight of our stay. Every single dish we tried in the restaurant was to an extremely high standard and with a wide range of traditional and inventive dishes, it was hard to choose which to try. Even if your just passing through Fairford, stop in for lunch or dinner, you will not be disappointed.
Thank you to everyone at The Bull for making our anniversary trip so memorable.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Imie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, Manager at The Bull Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Dear Imie C,

Thank you for taking the time to review us here at The Bull Hotel.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay so thoroughly. We are very proud of the team we have here and I will be sure they all see these comments.

Hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Andrew Murray
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews