We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lower Mill Estate - the idyllic English...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
Master on suite bedoom with lake views
Outdoor spa with extensive decking area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Cirencester, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ronan-mh
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“OK . . . but not quite up to standard”
Reviewed 19 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

My father booked our family a few days at Lower Mill. We had an enjoyable time together as a family and especially enjoyed the spa with the kids who liked (for some masochistic reason) using the sauna then jumping straight into the freezing cold eco pool outside!

Unfortunately, we had a few problems with the beds at #48 Howells Mere. The slats on one of the beds had collapsed even before we arrived. They were fixed the same day but broke again the next night (and so had to be fixed again!). The same happened to the double bed at the top of the house.

We were pleased with the effort made to fix the beds but feel that as this had clearly happened before, they should have been fixed before we arrived. The fundamental problem lies in furnishing the property with Ikea stuff in what is supposed to be an "exclusive" resort.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2016
Thank you for your review and your appreciation of the efforts that we have put into fixing the bed slats issue, however I am a little confused as your dad placed a review and his account of the events was completely different stating that it took us 2 days to deal with.

The day you arrived previous guests departed at 10.00am at that point we were unaware of any issues, after lunch, we recived an email notifying us that they had an issue with 1 single bed, the double was never mentioned. We immediately went to the property and carried out the repair, which sadly did not hold up, which is why we returned the following day and made another repair which stood the test of time during your stay.
Sadly we have to order replacement slats; it is not something that can be purchase of the shelf.
With regards to furnishings these reflect the price we charge, non of the items were purchased at IKEA and we never claimed that this Property is exclusive, the estate itself is exclusive as only owners are rental guests are permitted access.
We can offer other beyond 5 star properties which are 3 times the cost of the one you stayed in.
We are very sorry for the inconvenience caused, sadly it is not something that we could have foreseen but we are grateful that our efforts did not go unnoticed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful Location and onsite facilities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The walks
Liked least: Bin store was full to bursting the day we checked out.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
m_a020
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely stunning location and amazing property”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This was our first UK holiday as we tend to go abroad, we had family visiting us so decided to get away for a few days to the Cotswolds with them. I have to say the ease in which we booked this property was amazing and Kasha, John and Stehanie were great, they answered all our questions and were very informative to other places to eat or things to do. When we geot there we were blown away by the views, we were staying in this very modern, clean comfortable 3 story house with 5 bathroom (2 on each floor and one on the bottom floor) and it was fully equipped with everything we could need including a Nintendo wii which was very popular with the kids. We also made full use of their amazing spa and tennis courts as well as their kids area which included a trampoline. We loved it so much that unfortunately that we did not venture out and do any sightseeing. We will most definitely be doing more UK holidays and just wanted to thank Kasha John and Stephanie for all their help in making this a wonderful stay and giving us an insight to the great joys of holidaying in the UK. We will most definitely be coming back and recommending 48 Howells Mere to our friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property was amazing and located in such tranquil surroundings
Liked least: Lack of mobile signal but that was highlighted when making the booking so not a crticism
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, light and spacious.
Liked least: No wifi connection (though at least we relaxed without the beeping!)
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing