We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Montpellier Marvel”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Montpellier House

'Over 70 guests at our house party and it never felt crowded' - guest feedback
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'Over 70 guests at our house party and it never felt crowded' - guest feedback
Fitzherbert Dining Room - As a 'formal club' venue for up to 12 dinner guests. Private che
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
'Over 70 guests at our house party and it never felt crowded' - guest feedback
Fitzherbert Dining Room - As a 'formal club' venue for up to 12 dinner guests. Private che
William IV Drawing Room (front)
William IV Drawing Room (front). The collection of Regency concave mirrors lend a sense of drama.
William IV Fireplace with wood burning stove
William IV Drawing Room (rear)
William IV Drawing Room (rear) - the room features a William IV period oak wine cooler
Kitchen island, bar counter with two pull out drawer dishwashers for glasses.
Separate scullery kitchen provides additional space, features include filtered boiling water on tap
'Beau Nash' Four Poster Master Bedroom Suite
Four Poster Detail
The Beau Nash Four Poster Bedroom Suite Overlooks Montpellier Gardens - the perfect Bridal Suite
Beau Nash Suite - Regency period antiques (unrestored Chippendale stool with Irish silk pillow top)
Beau Nash Bedroom en-suite shower room with rainfall shower and Molton Brown toiletries
Stratford first floor bedroom suite overlooking the courtyard garden
All principal bedrooms have flat screen TVs with a wide choice of channels
Hand picked Regency and period antiques feature throughout (picture Stratford suite)
En-suite bathroom with limestone bath surround and rainfall shower (Stratford Suite)
Billington - second floor suite with blue colour hues
All bedrooms have generous storage space (Billington suite)
Entrance hallway detail with antique oval mirror and Regency console table
Staircase with fine art and oil paintings feature throughout
Exterior - the building was totally restored to its Regency splendour over 20 months, from 2011
South facing rear courtyard garden, planted with herbs and flowers
Welcome to the Montpellier Town House
The Town House seen from Montpellier Gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Cheltenham, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Quest6827...
1 review
“Montpellier Marvel”
Reviewed 4 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

33 Montpellier Terrace exceeded all expectation. Greeted on arrival by Thomas, who showed us the ropes. Incredible central location, brilliant social/dining area, brilliantly equipped. We had a superb time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2017
Thanks so much for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pichaiv
Thaialnd
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Our second visit”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We are so happy to return the visit to Cheltenham again. We choose to stay at here because of the facilities, decoration and all the hard ware is excellent. We feel like to stay in our own home. There are living room, kitchen with all fully equipped, tea, coffee. Bedroom is a dream, the most comfortable bed in UK. We can walk to the park which is opposite the house. We also can walk to all pub, restaurant or even shopping area, so convenience.
We do hope a chance to come back again. We love this city and this house a lot.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bed and location.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2016
Thanks Pichaiv. It was a pleasure to see you back here and we hope you will be able to come back again soon. Have a safe trip back to Thailand
Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather M
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An absolute gem!”
Reviewed 9 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Everything about Montpellier House is perfect. The location is ideal, each room brings its own unique ambience and the facilities throughout are second to none.

I was very sad to leave!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Dec 2015
Hi Heather

Thanks for your kind words and we hope to see you back in the none too distant future

Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cjordan20...
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic weekend in a beautiful house....”
Reviewed 7 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay in Montpelier House couldn't have been better. The house is beautifully decorated throughout and although very spacious, it has the character and charm to make it feel very warm and cosy.

With lots of personal touches it felt like a very lived in home rather than a rental. One of the Girls' Annuals in the house actually included a children's story written by the grandfather of one of the guests...a real find!

The kitchen has everything you need and more....plenty of crockery, cutlery and glasses and three dishwashers to cater for big parties! The bedrooms and bathrooms are all decorated in style with personalised Montpelier House dressing gowns for everyone too.

The house is so centrally located looking over the park that everything is within walking distance and our cars were not driven between arriving on the Friday and leaving on the Sunday.

The owner is extremely accommodating and we can't wait to return again! I would highly recommend a stay in this house. Thanks for making our stay so perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2015
Hi Caroline: I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again to Cheltenham in the none too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dokanman
london
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“Quirky and individual house”
Reviewed 8 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

A rather "hors categorie" experience, joining a group of friends for a "special" birthday.

On the one hand it felt like staying at a rather wealthy (albeit slightly eccentric) uncle's house yet with the benefit housekeeping style of a top boutique hotel.

There's space to find your own little corner and best of all the drawing room is a cosy place to kick back and relax with a large group feeling very much at home after a hard evening's dining and celebration with a lare scotch (Jo Gordons up the road is a revelation).

Decor is quirky in a non corporate kind of way with cute touches here and there to feel a little spoiled and pleased to be in England.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Deacor and attention to detail
Liked least: Stairs
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing