We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely property in a perfect location.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lavender Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
172 reviews
Perfect for al fresco refreshments
Entrance to Lavender Cottage
The River Windrush flows through the centre of Bourton-on-the-Water
The River Windrush in the centre of Bourton-on-the-Water
Bourton-on-the-Water
The village wildlife
Ooops! Only joking. You'll have to travel to Arizona USA for this view
Bourton on the Water celebrates Christmas
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 172 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Crofties7...
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A lovely property in a perfect location.”
Reviewed 2 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

My wife and I along with our 8 month old daughter stayed at Lavender Cottage in December 2017 and we are so glad that we did!

Hilary was so helpful from the minute we booked the cottage, providing us with all the information we needed and even arranging for us to check in early and check out late.

The cottage is in an ideal location to explore Bourton on the Water (you are literally a two minute walk from the centre) and being able to park pretty much outside the cottage was an added bonus as Bourton is a very busy place indeed. The cottage doesn't have allocated parking but there is plenty of space around the green and in the 3 days we stayed there, we didn't have any issues parking.

The cottage itself is lovely and I actually felt it was bigger than we were expecting - although do be aware of the low ceilings upstairs which often got the better of my bald head!

The fridge was stocked with milk and wine, fresh bread was in the cupboard and tea/coffee was also available - these were little touches that certainly went a long way. Added to this, our daughter was welcomed with a small gift from the owners which was very much appreciated.

The cottage is definitely 'baby friendly' and we were provided with a cot, linen, baby bath and a high chair - the only point to note would be that it can be a little bit awkward carrying a baby down from the top floor bedroom but after a few goes you do find a knack. We were also worried that the top bedroom (where the cot was placed at our request) did not have a door so the noise from downstairs may disturb the baby but this was never an issue.

The cottage is very cosy but still with plenty of space (for a small family like ours) and the shower is excellent too! A couple of other things...

Keep a listen out for the Pasty shop in the village ringing their bell around 16:30 - this means they are selling Pasties at half price - bargain!

The light spectacular at Sudeley Castle is more than worth a visit (December only) - just be prepared for the winding roads to get there!

All in all, a lovely stay in a lovely cottage that not only catered for all of our needs but also exceeded them. Hilary will look after you from day one and you will not regret choosing this property. We will be back :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2018
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience of Lavender Cottage and the village. You'll have to return when your daughter is older, so that she can enjoy all the local attractions that are geared towards children.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Dec 2017
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience of Lavender Cottage and Bourton-on-the-Water. I know how much you enjoyed your stay here & we'll look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Nov 2017
Thanks for posting this review. I know how much you all enjoyed your stay at Lavender Cottage and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Karen S
1 review
“Warm, welcoming and well-equipped cottage in an ideal location”
Reviewed 24 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

An excellent stay for our first visit to the Cotswolds. Lavender Cottage is perfectly placed in the heart of the village...lovely walks, pubs and places to see nearby, in fact we didn't use the car all week.

The cottage was an ideal retreat, with little personal touches from Hilary making us feel welcome from the outset. It was comfortable, clean, warm and well-equipped and we hope to return at some point in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2017
Thanks for taking the time to post this lovely review. I'm pleased that you found the ideal place for some rest and relaxation. We'd love to host you in the future when you feel the need to escape.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful cottage”
Reviewed 21 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Location could not be better, only a minutes walk to the river and village. Lots of walks and central location to visit other villages in the Cotswolds. The cottage had everything we needed and more. Hilary went out of her way to leave all the things we would need and the fridge was packed with goodies. Also a lovely garden with tables and chairs. If you are looking for an old but well maintained cottage in the Cotswolds then this is the place to go.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2017
Thanks for sharing your experience of Lavender Cottage. I'm pleased that we helped to provide the perfect place for some relaxation after your busy tour of the UK and that the beautiful Cotswolds lived up to your expectations.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing