We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly Reccommended”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lavender Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
159 reviews
Perfect for al fresco refreshments
Entrance to Lavender Cottage
The River Windrush flows through the centre of Bourton-on-the-Water
The River Windrush in the centre of Bourton-on-the-Water
Bourton-on-the-Water
The village wildlife
Ooops! Only joking. You'll have to travel to Arizona USA for this view
Bourton on the Water celebrates Christmas
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 159 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Orkneyboy
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly Reccommended”
Reviewed 6 January 2017 for a stay in November 2016

We had a lovely stay at Lavender Cottage as a party of four. The owners, Alistair and Hilary, offered clear and helpful pre-arrival information and a warm welcome. The property is well maintained and in a superb location - only a few minutes walk from shops, restaurants, etc.The owners were readily available but never intrusive. They have thought about everything with excellent equipment, facilities and entertainment in the house. Thank you again for a memorable stay; we would not hesitate to return!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2017
I knew that you'd enjoyed your stay, but thanks for taking the time to post this review of your experience. I'm pleased that you enjoyed the central location. I do hope that we've successfully conveyed to all our guests that we're always available, but we realise that many guests choose this type of holiday so that they can enjoy privacy. You obviously appreciated this.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joltt
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“The best B&B stay we had for this trup”
Reviewed 4 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

I am glad that I made the decision to stay put in Lavender cottage for 3 nights and then drive about Cotswold and Oxford instead.

The first impression when I stepped into the cottage was the cleanliness and the feel of home. The whole cottage is definitely more than well furnished and equipped. The living room has boardgames, books, DVD, music player etc to keep everyone of all ages entertain while staying in the cottage.

The heating in the cottage was good as it kept us warmed on one of frosty nights.

Alistair and Hilary are the best host. They were responsive to queries upon booking of their cottage. They even informed and reminded us of the Christmas event on 2 Dec, which we were glad to be part of as this is the first time we experienced such an event while travelling.

Their generosity was greatly appreciated as they stocked up with juice, milk, bread, butter, wine in the fridge. They also have cooking condiments in the fridge and cupboard that enable us to cook a meal or two during our stay.

Alistair and Hiliary are very organised and left informations like instructions on items in the cottage and also food recommendations and menus in a folder. It was helpful indeed.

Would definitely recommend my friends who are visiting Cotswold to stay at lavender cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2016
I'm pleased that you enjoyed your evening at the Christmas Fair and the lighting of the tree. It's always a magical time here. The cold weather was probably a bit of a shock for you & certainly a change from back home. I'm glad it didn't stop you exploring the area again and that you found Lavender Cottage warm & welcoming. Thank you for taking the time to post this lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bev E
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“lovely stay.”
Reviewed 2 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Just had 3 nights at lavender cottage. beautiful cottage in an ideal spot.Hilary and Alistair go out of there way from the very start to ensure you have a perfect stay . everything has been thought of . there was wine.bread.milk.jam.fresh orange. biscuits.butter besides cupboards filled with teas.coffee.cereal.condiments etc...The cottage is very clean.warm and cosy.Theres a folder filled with lots of information on the local area.including menus and recommendations of places to eat.We couldnt fault it.many thanks to you both.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2016
Thanks for sharing your experience of Lavender Cottage. I'm pleased that you found the perfect place to recharge your batteries before Christmas.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slzlsusan
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely Perfect!”
Reviewed 13 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

From the moment we arrived at Lavender Cottage we were made to feel really welcome. The cottage was immaculate! Very cosy and homely and the extra touches that the owners put on like supplies, cd's, DVDs and games really made our holiday. Perfect location, perfect cottage! Had an amazing time we will definitely be going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2016
Thank you for posting this review so soon after you arrived home. I'm pleased that you and your sister enjoyed your holiday here and that Lavender Cottage provided everything you needed for a relaxing break. We'll look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wazza61_1...
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming Cotswold Cottage”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Lavender Cottage is an excellent place to stay in the Cotswolds. It is a beautiful stone cottage set back from the street with a charming private courtyard. It is close to the shops and restaurants in Bourton-on-the -Water. Hilary and Alistair are great hosts who have thought of everything to make your stay comfortable. We especially appreciated the walking maps and recommendations for local restaurants - thanks. Lavender Cottage was a highlight of our European trip!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A beautiful Cotswolds stone cottage
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2016
I'm pleased that you appreciated the central, yet quiet location of Lavender Cottage and I'm sure that the peaceful country walks were a welcome break from your hectic schedule. Happy to be a highlight of your trip! Thanks for taking the time to share your experience here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$140
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing