We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An Umbrella In The Rain ( Fantastic Cottage)”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lavender Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
172 reviews
Perfect for al fresco refreshments
Entrance to Lavender Cottage
The River Windrush flows through the centre of Bourton-on-the-Water
The River Windrush in the centre of Bourton-on-the-Water
Bourton-on-the-Water
The village wildlife
Ooops! Only joking. You'll have to travel to Arizona USA for this view
Bourton on the Water celebrates Christmas
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 172 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
muz720
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“An Umbrella In The Rain ( Fantastic Cottage)”
Reviewed 1 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We arrived at Lavender Cottage on one of the most awful nights in Feb, I'd booked the cottage for my partners birthday & we were not disappointed - we were absolutely delighted with the accommodation, great kitchen to cook in everything to hand for a lovely Sunday dinner! Hilary had thought about everything even down to the little things like salt & pepper, even a delicious muesli & fab bread, milk great for when you arrive, this meant so much as we arrived a little late so we had a bite to eat the next morning, as the last thing we wanted to do was search for a shop in those weather conditions the previous night.

Lavender cottage you can tell is a much loved cottage that we really enjoyed staying in, Hilary & Alistar had even gone to the trouble of leaving a little present for my partner for his birthday this was a lovely thought & very kind of them!

We can fully recommend anyone to stay in this little gem of a place, we had a booked an meal at stow on the wolds & needed a taxi there so we could both have a drink & if you need a taxi this was no trouble either we just sent an email to Hilary & she advised us of names & telephone nos for us to call
I was so glad I asked the question as there not to many taxis around this next of the woods so you do need to book one early as I believe but hey get booked up quickly

To sum up I could of easily of stayed on for another few days but unfortunately Had to get back to work, a truely wonderful place.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2016
You really did have the worst possible weather for your stay here, but I'm pleased that you still managed to enjoy yourselves. Thank you for taking the time to post this lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lel61
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location, fabulous place to stay for those cosy getaways.”
Reviewed 10 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

From the time we booked, communication with Hillary was great. On arrival we found that Hillary had taken the time to stock up with the essentials such as milk, bread etc. and we were made to feel that this was a home from home.
The property was immaculately clean and very comfortable. There was even an abundance of relevant literature available to enable us to plan our stay.
The location is excellent and within easy level walking distance of the village centre and shops, with the river not more than 50mtrs away. A few minutes walk in the other direction you will find Birdland and the Model Village.
Easy access to major routes makes this an ideal base to explore the area.
If I had to find any negatives, and this is not easy, I would say that in the height of the summer car parking space may be a bit harder to find, but this is not based on fact as there wasn't a problem when we stayed.
I would certainly recommend Lavender Cottage, and would not hesitate to book another stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Could not pick one thing as all was good
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. The village does get very busy during the Summer, but the two large car parks cope very well. We're lucky that the cottage is tucked away in the back streets, so the Day Trippers don't find their way to our hidden part of the village for parking.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Jan 2016
I'm pleased that you enjoyed Lavender Cottage and it's proximity to all the village attractions. Yes, these old cottages are a challenge for very tall people. We've welcomed a guest of 6'7" who loves them - and only banged his head once! Thank you for taking the time to post this review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MNF13
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Lavender Cottage”
Reviewed 22 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We recently stayed at Lavender Cottage for a short New Year break visiting the Cotswolds. We chose the cottage based on the very positive previous reviews and are pleased to add to them with our own experience. Hilary and Alistair have provided a very cosy and well-equipped cottage with everything you could need for a stay. We were grateful for the grocery provisions which included bread,wine, juice, margarine, fresh coffee, chocolates, etc and meant we didnt need to rush out for anything on arrival.
We particularly enjoyed sitting by the fireplace in the cosy living room and relaxing with a DVD/board game (provided). On our first night we didnt want to go out to eat as we found the cottage so charming and cosy, so we got a takeaway from the local Chinese restaurant round the corner.
During our stay, we visited Stow-on-the-Wold and Chipping Campden and enjoyed eating at their pubs and tearooms. However, I would say that Bourton on the Water is the prettiest and most peaceful of the towns we visited during our stay and we are pleased we chose it as our base. We will definitely return to see more of the Cotswolds and recommend a stay at Lavender Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy living room.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2016
Thank you for taking the time to post this lovely review of your stay here. I'm glad you found the perfect place to recharge your batteries and that you enjoyed the cottage & the area. There's plenty more to see next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tate1466
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous Quirky and Cosy Cottage”
Reviewed 11 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We had a great 5 days over Christmas and The New Year the weather was not that great but it didnt dampen our stay due to the wonderful comforts of Lavender Cottage also on arrival it was lovely to see all the excellant supplies that had been left far more than we expected. While there we managed to walk to Lower slaughter to the lovely Country Inn for a well earned Mulled wine we also visited the Arboretum at Morton on the Marsh which was wonderful even at this time of year our other day trip was to the lovely village of Burford where we went to the Cotswold Wildlife Park well worth a visit . The Village of Bourton is delightful with its lovely shops, pubs, quaint cafes and restaurants something for all tastes.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2016
It's such a pity that the wet weather you'd had at home followed you here. Thank goodness you brought your waterproofs with you so that you could enjoy all that Bourton-on-the-Water & the surrounding area has to offer. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the local attractions.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing