We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tilley's Cottage is a magical place to stay in a...”

Review of Tilly's Cottage

The back garden of Tilly's Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The back garden of Tilly's Cottage
The ford nearby The living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
The back garden of Tilly's Cottage
The ford nearby
The living room
Relax in front of the log burner
Come dine with me!
All mod cons in the kitchen
Main Bedroom - a double
Double bedroom
Second bedroom made up as a single room
Second bedroom made up as a twin
Modern bathroom
Eating al fresco
The front of Tilly's Cottage
Feed the ducks
Bourton on the Water - Venice of the Cotswolds
Bourton in the snow
Lower Slaughter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MaggieQCu...
Cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tilley's Cottage is a magical place to stay in a delightful Cotswolds village.”
Reviewed 15 March 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We couldn't have timed our arrival better, getting to Bourton-on-the-Water and checking into our cottage just in time to walk round the corner and catch sight of Father Christmas in his horse-drawn vehicle for the opening of a wonderful evening of Victorian fun. There were stalls, mulled wine, carols, choirs and the lighting of Bourton's Christmas tree, which stands full-square in the middle of the River Windrush whose banks we walked along, delighting in the tiny bridges which cross it and enjoying all the brightly lit shops, cafes and restaurants in this beautiful village.

Our cottage was unbelievably cosy and welcoming, with tasteful Christmas decorations and a huge wood-burning stove. The owners have thought of everything possible to make staying there a great experience - even down to providing pet blankets and dog treats! We found the Cotswolds in general very dog-friendly and even though we didn't have our pooches with us, enjoyed seeing other people being able to take theirs into cafes with no restrictions.

The Motor Museum has to be seen to be believed, and one afteroon's visit isn't enough to see and marvel at the hundreds of exhibits on offer, from vintage caravans with leaded windows, the interiors of the vans displaying on their small tables precious Clarice Cliff pottery sitting on beautiful hand-embroidered tablecloths, to hundreds of enamel advertising signs. It's very true that you don't realise what you'll miss until it's gone, and this museum pays testament to a golden age of motoring which can't ever return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall comfort and attention to detail - nothing had been forgotten.
Liked least: There was nothing at all to find fault with in this cottage.
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ptaylor10
buckinghamshire
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation !”
Reviewed 4 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is extremely well equipped with everything we needed. A complete home from home, the log burner was a great added extra which made the cottage feel even more homely a complete tranquil haven. Even our two dogs were made to feel welcome with dog treats, bowls and towels all ready for them. The location is ideal as so close to the village centre and very well situated for exploring the Cotsworlds. We can't wait to return!

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robert b
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Cottage by far in the cotswolds, clean tidy and well equiped”
Reviewed 11 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We have stayed in a few cottages, but this takes the biscuit, (excuse pun as the very welcome pack on arrival had some biscuits in it thanks Jo) yes a welcome pack, and everything you needed and more in case of emegency, well thought of by owners, quiet spot but near enough to enjoy Bourton and all its ammenities, good resturants,pubs and shops in a short walk, we always enjoy it in this part of England, but even more when you have a cosy home like Tillys Cottage, close to all walks and stately homes and gardens, We Thank you Jo and Ian for allowing us to stay in your lovely cottage, we will be back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the easy parking which in the area is at a premium
Liked least: the tall honeysuckle as it stop the late evening sun, (when i like to sit out with glass wine)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurreyLin...
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“2nd stay and even better!”
Reviewed 1 August 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second stay at Tilly's (see my first review May 2011) and, if anything, it was even better than last year. This was because we knew where everything was and felt so at home there. Also, a couple of suggestions that we made last year (i.e. hooks on back of bedroom doors) had been actioned, so that was great.
The cottage was just as clean, fresh and comfortable as last year with nice 'welcome items' as a little treat. There's everything you could possibly need in the kitchen and toiletries in the bathroom if you've forgotten anything.
Once again we were thrilled with the location - so convenient to walk to the village yet set back in a quiet little cul-de-sac. With the added advantage of it's own parking space, Tilly's suits us down to the ground. We have designated it our venue for our annual 'girl's retreat'.
Be sure to try The Pudding Club evening at Mickleham if you stay over a weekend - great fun!
Thanks once again, Jo!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness & cosiness.
Liked least: Having to go home.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: description in brochure 100% correct
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing