We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage, just what we were looking for!”

Review of Robins Nest

Robins' Nest, Bourton-on-the-water
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Robins' Nest, Bourton-on-the-water
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Robins' Nest, Bourton-on-the-water
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 5
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
suziecoop...
Northwood, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, just what we were looking for!”
Reviewed 1 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We booked Robins Nest to start our Christmas celebrations with family over the Bourton-on-the-Water Xmas Fayre weekend (4-7 Dec) and couldn't have asked for more! The cottage was nicely decorated for Christmas and in a great location. There were 10 of us staying, so not always easy to get somewhere big enough that still has that cosy, cottage feel to it, but Robins Nest ticked all the boxes! There were 5 bedrooms, all of a good size and enough bathrooms for all. We loved the fires in the lounge & dining room, that made it so cosy, which is just what we wanted!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2016
Thank you so much for these lovely comments about Robins Nest. It pleases us greatly to receive such warm and appreciative feedback. We are glad you had a happy Christmas there.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kupt0n
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy, Homely Cottage (Fantastic Kitchen)”
Reviewed 23 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We chose this cottage as it was a convenient location for a wedding that took place in the Baptist church in the village. The cottage was perfect for us groomsmen and the groom with plenty of space to relax before the wedding and get ready. (There were 7 of us in total)

The facilities were fantastic - the kitchen was large (with a simple seating area) and had good equipment (including a range cooker!). There was plenty of crockery etc. that we could use.
All of the bathrooms were modern (2 bathrooms, 3 toilets) with good showers.

The cottage was very clean when we arrived.

The lounge and dining room were large (and larger than we thought) and very cosy/homely - it was also decorated for Christmas which I thought was a nice touch.

The wi-fi was fast and easy to connect to (it was a BT Hub).

The only issue we couldn't understand was why we had to pay for electricity (although we only put in £1 over the whole three days we were at the cottage).

Overall, a good cottage that is only 10min walk away from the centre of a beautiful village and in the end we just didn't want to leave because it felt so cosy and homely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Kitchen
Liked least: Having to pay for electricity
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Dec 2015
Well! What a lovely heart-warming review you have given us! We are delighted at your comments and thank you so much for taking time out - even in the busy month of December - to submit this to Tripadvisor - it's a lovely Christmas Eve gift for us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slhguys
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Wonderful family get-together”
Reviewed 6 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

What can we say? Margaret and David were incredibly gracious and patient regarding our payment issues and challenges with our overseas wire! We sincerely appreciated their understanding. As for the house, the photographs do not do it justice - it was spacious enough for our party of 9, but also incredibly cozy after long days out in the cold! We were initially concerned regarding 'feeding the meter' as, coming from overseas, we do not have a stash of one pound coins! However, family members brought plenty, and even though we had the radiators on high (Texas has made us soft!), the electricity meter did not have to be fed too much at all. Loved the kitchen and dining room. Very comfortable, lovely location, we were extremely pleased with it. Thanks again to Margaret and David - hope you enjoy the addition to your robin collection.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness and comfort of the house
Liked least: Nothing - everything was as advertised
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2015
We very much appreciate your taking time to send in these lovely comments about Robins Nest. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time there. Thank you for your business and also the sweet Robin that you so kindly left for us.
(Hope you don't mind if we clarify for future guests that the heating is included and not dependent on the meter - hence why you did not have to feed it very much!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Aug 2015
We do appreciate your kind comments about the cottage. Thank you very much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jean T
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable, homely and central”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Robins Nest was all we could have wished. The layout meant that our son & his family had the upper floor with their own bathroom, my single son had a downstairs room with the shower room & we had the other downstairs room with a small en- suite toilet & basin.
The kitchen was adequately equipped, the dining room & lounge perfect.
The garden was super for our little grandson to play safely. We could easily take the 5 minute walk into Bourton where there were so many restaurants & cafés to choose from.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The general ambience & situation
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2015
Many thanks for submitting such a nice review. We are very pleased that you liked it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing