We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous location in a pretty village”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Cottage

Exterior 1
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior 1
Exterior 2 Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Exterior 1
Exterior 2
Kitchen
Kitchen
Lounge
Lounge
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Location
Location
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bljl1862
Torquay, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous location in a pretty village”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I highly recommend The Cottage as your home away from home. Everything you would need is in this property. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable, guaranteeing a good night's sleep. The fixtures were of high quality and the extras provided made you feel very welcome. The location is excellent being in the heart of the village and the river virtually at your doorstep. A very warm and welcoming retreat

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, cleanliness and welcome
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kl8044
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"PERFECT"”
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is our second stay at The Cottage and has become a real home from home for us. It spotlessly clean there is every appliance you could wish for. The living area is very comfortable with a nice dining area. The kitchen is extremely well equipped so much so my wife wants one just like it. Bedrooms are very well furnished with very comfortable beds. Nicely fitted out toilet and bathroom on the first floor and toilet on the ground floor. I can honestly say we can't find any negatives with the cottage and to many positives to list. Its location is perfect for the village and parking directly outside the front door. In our opinion there is no better cottage or location in Bourton On The Water. Over the last few years we have had holidays in several villages in the Cotswolds and never been disappointed with any location but we have not stayed anywhere that comes close to The Cottage and we shall certainly be coming back for the foreseeable future. As I said earlier this is our second stay I should add we have already booked our third and fourth. Finally the owners. This year we stayed as part of my 60th Birthday on arrival there was a lovely Welcome/Birthday note from Diane and Robert with a box of chocolates and a bottle of champagne in the fridge, how good is that, they are like their cottage "PERFECT".

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alwindy
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Wonderful cottage in a fabulous location!”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Our second stay at The Cottage and still as wonderful as before. Everything you could possibly need in a wonderful central location. Once you've stayed here you won't want to stay anywhere else in Bourton - which was exactly the reason we came back to it!
The cottage is immaculate, the children were able to pop out by themselves to feed the ducks (it's that close to the river!) and it now also has the added bonus of Wifi.
We can't wait to come back again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbbx3wsb
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay in an ideal location”
Reviewed 14 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The cottage was spotless when we arrived with truffles and shortbread on arrival.

The accommodation was well presented an ideal base for a group who were here for the Cheltenham Festival. The bedrooms were comfortable and the bathroom was perfect for a group of our size.

Would definitely recommend!

Thanks Diane for a great stay

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TommyH198...
1 review
“Fantastic Valentines Stay...”
Reviewed 18 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

My partner and I had a fantastic valentines stay at this cottage. It is very cosy and instantly feels like home. Very clean and well equipped, it has everything you require for your stay including wifi. Great location, within a stones throw of the river and local amenities. We will certainly be coming back!
Special thanks to Diane who went the extra mile to make our stay extra special.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing