We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfectly Appointed Cottage right in the heart of...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ockman Cottage

Ockman Cottage in the citadel of Rye. Perfect for a special break.....
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ockman Cottage in the citadel of Rye. Perfect for a special break.....
Spacious open plan living Fully equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Ockman Cottage in the citadel of Rye. Perfect for a special break.....
Spacious open plan living
Fully equipped kitchen
Comfy king size bed
Time to get ready for a night out....
Comfy double size bed
Beautiful large mirrors
Sweets from 'Sweet Shop Tony' on the High Street
Modern fitted bathroom
Enjoy a glass of wine in the courtyard
Ockman Cottage awaits your arrival
Come and Enjoy Rye....
Ypres Tower and Gun Gardens
Ypres Tower
Landgate Arch the entrance to the citadel of Rye
Beautiful sky at Pett Level
Sea shells by the sea shore.....
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Sophie W
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Perfectly Appointed Cottage right in the heart of Rye”
Reviewed 3 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Ockman Cottage could not be better placed for exploring beautiful Rye. Nothing is more than a few minutes walk away and we spent a very pleasant morning pottering around, admiring the architecture and visiting the antique shops. A great selection of pubs and restaurants nearby too and despite being the start of the school holidays Rye was peaceful and not overcrowded. Ockman cottage itself is very pretty, warm and amazingly well appointed and organised. Everything has been thought of by Jilly the owner, and nothing was too much trouble. Comfy beds and sofas, lovely treats when we arrived, even a bottle of chilled white wine! Thanks Jilly we will be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2017
It always lovely to receive a review especially such a positive one.....We always try to ensure our guests gain the best experience that Ockman Cottage together with the interesting town of Rye can offer.
Thank you for taking the time to review we look forward to welcoming you back to our cosy cottage tucked away in the heart of Rye.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fegari
Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderfully comfortable stay in the heart of Rye.”
Reviewed 28 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The location was perfect for exploring the centre of this historical town. Situated in the heart of Rye amongst wonderful restaurants, cafe's, local crafts and antique shops, this 2 bed cottage offers an immaculate and tastefully furnished accommodation. The main bed was so comfortable it was no problem to enjoy long lay-ins everyday.

Due it’s perfect location it was ideal for exploring the local surrounding areas, beautiful countryside and National Trust properties everywhere.

It was fortunate that the week we were there, there was a Scallop festival, and so many wonderful dishes to experience at so many great restaurants. A shame that we won’t be able to come back for the Jazz festival in August.

I would definately come back to stay at Jilly’s cottage again when we are next in the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2017
We were so pleased you enjoyed the location and comfort of our cottage. Scallop Week is a wonderful festival and Rye has many each year the Jazz Festive in August is definitely one not to be missed......something for everyone.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you so much for reviewing our cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
863fs
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Stylish and cosy house quietly situated in centre of Rye.”
Reviewed 18 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Ockman's Cottage provided a wonderful base from which to explore Rye and the surrounding area. The house is very tastefully furnished, immaculately clean and well appointed. We were able to explore Rye on foot from the house and we loved the unspoilt historical town and the very interesting selection of shops. I came home with lovely silver jewellery made in Rye, a woodcut from the excellent art gallery just behind the house and a Tilley hat from the hatters Herald and Heart. We enjoyed walks on Romney Marsh, Camber Beach and Rye Harbour. Altogether it was the perfect winter break.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2017
Thank you so much for such a positive review. We are so pleased you were comfortable in our cottage and appreciated the furnishings and good housekeeping it is so important that our cottage is presented immaculately to our guests.
Lovely that you enjoyed the wonderful independent and varied shops that are in Rye along with the many walks all very close by.
We hope to welcome you back in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 13 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Fabulous short break in Rye staying in Ockman Cottage, perfectly placed in the centre of Rye with everything you could need on the doorstep. Well equipped and comfortable cottage, making it a home from home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Feb 2017
Thank you for your positive review.....Ockman Cottage is perfectly located to enjoy everything Rye has to offer. Hopefully we will welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cjbelling...
Worksop, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Ideal place to stay”
Reviewed 10 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Stayed at Ockman Cottage last week during a golf event. A very comfortable, well furnished cottage that is conveniently located in the town centre.

Will certainly return in the future and recommend Ockman Cottage to anyone visiting Rye.

Thanks Jilly for a wonderful stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2017
Thank you for your positive review. Ockman Cottage is centrally located in the heart of Rye but is also well located for the many attractions in the surrounding area which includes a great Golf Course. We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing