We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Blackthorn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
84 reviews
Some of our ducks taking it easy after supplying eggs to our guests...
Some of the various eggs laid by our hens and ducks, and regularly enjoyed by our guests.
Early morning at Beech House, with Blackthorn on the left, the hot tub, and the pool room opposite.
A magical morning at Blackthorn.
Camber Sands with its dunes, and sea at low tide, just 9 miles away.
The dramatic coastline of the Hastings Country Park, just 6 miles west of Blackthorn.
Winchelsea Beach, 5 miles, and our nearest beach of picturesque pebbles and groynes at sunset.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 84 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Amy S
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 21 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Blackthorn cottage was the perfect, relaxing weekend break we were after, in a beautiful setting.

The hot tub and pool were fantastic and Peter and Karen could not be more helpful. They were the perfect hosts and so friendly. We had bubbly and fresh eggs waiting for us on arrival which was a lovely touch.

I would definately recommend to anyone and would love to return myself in the future.

Thank you for a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub and pool.
Liked least: There was nothing I did not like. The only problem we had was finding a local taxi company to get us into Rye on a Saturday evening.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2014
Thank you for the lovely review.
We're glad you were able to spend time relaxing in the hot tub and the indoor pool, but also squeeze in quad biking near Hailsham, a meal out in Rye, and a walk on Camber beach!
As you know, there are plenty more places to visit and things to do in this lovely area, and so we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Best wishes to you both and thank you for finding time to review Blackthorn. It is much appreciated.
Peter & Karen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentravel...
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT STAY ONCE AGAIN!”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Second visit to Blackthorn - last time was a couple of winters ago and it was nice to see the area in a different season. Warm welcome from Karen and Peter, bubbly in fridge, eggs for breakfast if you want them. We were lucky with the weather so spent two lazy days in the hot tub (plastic glass of Pimms in hand!) and swimming in the indoor heated pool. Just a great place for relaxing in peaceful countryside. Had a meal at the Robin Hood pub which was very nice - surroundings are not so nice as the Queens Head but as it was only 10 mins walk up the lane, thought we would give it a try. All in all a great weekend. Thanks again Karen and Peter for making us so welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Hot tub and pool
Liked least: Nothing to dislike!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterAndr...
Southampton
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“PERFECT COUPLES RETREAT”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My husband and I stayed for a 3 night break to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary. What a bargain, and a hidden gem. Bottle of bubbly for us when we arrived from the owners Peter and Karen, fresh chicken and duck eggs, what a lovely touch ! Lovely accommodation, well equipped kitchen including dishwasher with everything you need to prepare a nice meal or breakfast. A lovely comfortable bed and bedding, great shower and bath with nice big quality towels. A beautiful setting for a romantic break, to just chill and enjoy the views, have a swim in your own private use of pool or a glass of bubbly in the hot tub. You can use as a base to enjoy the local area, or just stay on site and chillax ! We will definitely be back, we loved everything about it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private use of Pool and hot tub
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henk_vV
Tilburg, The Netherlands
1 review
“Very comfortable, clean and quiet retreat”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We came to relax, read, sit in the sun, and enjoy the tranquillity of the southern English countryside, and that's what we did. Blackthorn Cottage is the perfect place for it. Very comfortable in any which way, but the amount of beer glasses. Instantaneously solved by the owner, when I asked for it.
The owners are very helpful in making your stay a pleasant one. They even helped carrying the luggage from, and to the car.
I write this comment because I think the owners deserve it, but I had rather not tell you and increase the chance of availability in the future because we are certainly coming back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful view.
Liked least: plastic beer glass
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacha1994
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect family weekend!!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

My fiancé and I travelled down to Blackthorn on the 30th May with our 1year old daughter from Crewe to stay for 2 nights. The journey was long but it was completely worth it and we'll definitely be going back! Peter and Karen were lovely and the area was beautiful. Whilst there we visited Bodiam castle and eat out at the Queens head both of which were amazing and we'd definitely visit them both again. The pool and hot tub at Blackthorn made our trip and our daughter absolutely loved them! Overall a perfect get away that we'll be recommending to friends and visiting again. x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage and surrounding area.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$100
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing