We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect place to enjoy a celebration!”

Review of The Mount

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
View from the Wool Room
Dining Room
Dining Room with open fire
The Hall
The Hall
Sitting Room
Sitting Room
Stairs
West Hall   (Entrance)
Enclosed patio
View from the Moat Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Emiecampi...
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The perfect place to enjoy a celebration!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Myself and a group of friends stayed here to celebrate my 30th birthday. The house was perfect and very well equipped. It is full of character and there is plenty of space for everyone. Bernie was very helpful prior to our stay and the home made cake was a lovely touch!
We enjoyed a group meal around the dining table, breakfasts in the kitchen and had a lovely Barbecue with the use of the large barn/games room, while looking out onto the fields of Rye.
It really was the perfect weekend and we will certainly return again someday.
Thanks Bernie!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
242pamela...
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful character house”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Perfect house for a large group of people. Loved the gardens where we spend most of our time, and ping pong in the games room. The farm shop next door was a real bonus for morning coffee. Would definitely book again if staying in the area.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helelelel...
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great place to enjoy a relaxing weekend with family and friends”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Mount for a Long weekend in April and we enjoyed every bit of it. We came with family and friends from France and we were all really impressed by the house. It is truly amazing and will make you feel like you went back in time!
Our host was very helpful and welcoming and the house is really clean and well equipped. We came with three young children and cots and high hairs were provided which made our travelling much easier.
The house is surrounded by fields and ideally located (within walking distance of the town of Rye and 3 miles from the beach.)
We hope to return to "The Mount" one day to enjoy it once again.
You won't be disappointed!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian R
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A perfect house for a large family Christmas.”
Reviewed 10 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My family of 11 - spread over 3 generations - spent a magical Christmas week at The Mount. The house - so full of character - was warm and cosy and a fully decorated Christmas tree awaited us. The kitchen was very well equipped for all those big meals and the dining room perfect for memorable dining. The house is so spacious that we could spread out or gather together as the mood took us. We will be back!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire E
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A perfect place for a family holiday”
Reviewed 12 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This is the second time we have stayed here as a group and we love it. The place has so much character and charm.The accommodation is really well thought out and there is plenty of room, all the bedrooms are a very good size .
The house has enough utensils, cutlery and crockery for twenty people which is great as some places can be a bit mean with this. The garden is lovely I especially enjoy listening to the frogs. The games room is also a bonus as you cant rely on the Great British weather.
The owners are lovely too they always are very helpful when booking and when you arrive there is a lovely cake to greet you.They also provide the essentials to get you started.
We will certainly be back .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing history of the house and its great facilities
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing