We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,143)
Filter reviews
1,143 results
Traveller rating
331
302
249
156
105
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
331
302
249
156
105
Show reviews that mention
All reviews panelled dining room bubble and squeak parking space high street eggs benedict bridal suite lovely garden south downs street parking wine list no lift old house full english shower room salmon large room railway station
Filter
Updating list...
493 - 498 of 1,143 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2016

Tripadvisor reviews on Pelham were mixed so I measured my expectations accordingly. I was part of group staying at the hotel for a weekend workshop and booked an 'Executive Room'. The room was very pleasant and spacious, with large windows overlooking the attractive rear garden. Comfortable bed and pillows with decent linen. The ensuite bathroom (shower only, no bath) was not what I would call 'Executive'...whatever that description means!...the shower was efficient and the water hot, but the overall appearance was generally unimpressive; cheap flooring, cheap toilet paper, no loo brush. No tooth mug...plastic or otherwise but the worst thing was the smell (drains?). I reported this unpleasant odour when checking out doubting that anything could be done about this during the weekend. I can't help but feel this hotel is perhaps 'punching above its weight'. £160 per night, mid- January in attractive but small town is a little out of kilter with value for money in my experience. Great staff and attention to detail is what makes a hotel stand out and I am sad to say this was not the case here. Some members of staff were very pleasant and helpful; I certainly felt others would benefit from a little re-training in Hospitality. I say this politely; I have stayed in many hotels, big and small, in many countries and staff are such an important component of the hotel business. Other niggles for £160 per night...the usual Hotel Welcome Brochure normally left on the dressing table/desk in room (i.e. General information, amenities, list of numbers to call, Meal times, other room numbers, services i.e. laundry; note paper, local points of interest etc etc) was noticeable by its absence. Plastic covered paper slip stating 'Dial 100 for Reception,' and menus stuffed in a stationery box on the mantlepiece were all that were on display.
Cup & saucer missing from breakfast tray on first morning ...had to use mug from 'Hospitality Tray' in my room. In the Ladies Room on the ground floor a cheap, plastic, black 'linen basket' for paper hand towel disposal. Way off mark. Same cheap...and less than spotless, flooring in here. On a more positive note, this is a very attractive Georgian house...could be transformed into a super hotel without losing original features, if more care and attention to design and detail were implemented. The reception area, and staircase most pleasing. (Wall 'art work' as mentioned by previous reviewer was ill considered. Matter of taste perhaps but ........back to detail, detail, detail!) The bar is comfortable and cosy....a welcoming space for tea and cake or glass of wine on arrival; the adjoining small dining room overlooking the garden looked pleasant. HOWEVER, all said, I had a very enjoyable weekend because of the nature of this short stay; as to whether I would return to Pelham House just for the hotel experience is questionable. The food...always more challenging when catering for group dining, was very acceptable, and no real reason for any major complaints here.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank gillilondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt L, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting you for taking the time to post your comments.

Its good to see that overall you enjoyed your stay including the food that was served to your colleagues.
The executive ,refers to the size of the room and vista,these do vary as the property is grade 2 listed , bathrooms also vary in size and aspect for the same reasons.
I am indeed sorry that some standards that you encountered were not to the high standard the hotel strives for.Actions will be put in place to address these.
When next in the area please call myself so that i can invite you back to the hotel and deal with your booking personally
Kind Regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2016

Lovely room with great views, a huge comfy bed and a shower powerful enough to massage away the strains of the week. (room 20) We opted for the dinner, bed and breakfast option, a bargain. Dinner and breakfast were great and service attentive and friendly. Now I am starting to sound like an advert, but we had such a good time. Ignore those negative reviews, read between the lines, life is full of moaners, although it is worth checking which room, some are not as good others.

Room Tip: I believe the rooms on the top floor are larger than those
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jane29292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt L, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
I am pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.
Your comments will be passed on to the restaurant and Kitchen team.

I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the not to distant future.

Kind Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2016 via mobile

Came in here for lunch after being recommended. Two course meal £20 which seemed good value but they are doing a winter special. Two courses for £10.95. You can't get better value than that in a lovely wood panelled dining room with beautiful views over the garden.
I had ham hock and chicken terrine followed by beef cheek and venison daube. It was dark rich and excellent. Maybe portions are slightly smaller but very filling and substantial. Extremely good value and very tasty.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
Thank sarahgant12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt L, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2016

Dear Guest ,

Thank you for posting your comments.

I will pass your comments on to the kitchen team.
Its great that you enjoyed your meals and found the menu and price to be value for money More importantly you found the food to be excellent.The Chef changes the menu on a regular basis and uses local produce as much as possible ,with all food being freshly prepared and cooked.

Kind Regards
Tony Giauna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2016

Reserved a table last minute, mid-week without any expectations or prior knowledge of the restaurant. Proceeded to have a most exquisite two course meal washed down with a well rounded Rioja. Attentive staff from beginning to end. Thank you for contributing to a memorable occasion. Already planning a return visit to sample the lunch menu.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2016 via mobile

It is not cheap to eat in the hotel restaurant but the food is good.

It is a shame that the bar area in parts has square Formica tables more suited to a cheaper coffee shop.

The staff were less than attentive and when we were asked to settle our bill at 10.55pm we knew the staff wanted to go home.

Such a shame.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt L, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2016

Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your comments.

Its great to see that you enjoyed the food.
I am sorry that you found the food expensive as we offer 3 courses for £25 at dinner .

The Hotel does have a winter offer on for February, lunch 2 courses £10.95 and dinner 3 courses £16.95.

I hope that we can welcome you back in the near future

Kind Regards
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews