We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Sussex Find”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Blue Door Barns

Blue Door Barns
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Blue Door Barns
Little Lodge bedroom The Sailor's House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Blue Door Barns
Little Lodge bedroom
The Sailor's House
The Nook
The Snug, the Blue Door Barns treatment room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Lewes, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gayle_j18...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Sussex Find”
Reviewed 30 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had the pleasure of staying at Blue Door Barns for a night this October, and have been mentioning it to our friends and family as a place we should definitely all go back to & enjoy the lovely surroundings. If you're looking for a very lovely boutique B&B, with stylish surroundings & a stunning landscape, not forgetting the yummy breakfast & fantastic hospitality then this is the place to book for sure!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort, style & great hospitality
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and for recommending us to family and friends. Do come and stay again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joss P
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stylish, cute accommodation run by lovely people”
Reviewed 15 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We were lucky enough to discover Blue Door Barns through friends and loved it so much we decided to have our wedding there! Perhaps the best part about the place is the owners, Bryony and Emma who are such friendly and nice people that they make your time at Blue Door Barns really wonderful. Their flair and creativity also means that they have created a set of really stylish barns all with individual gorgeous features. To add to that, the courtyard that draws the barns together is a great space for groups to relax in and is in keeping with the pretty, coastal vibe of the barns. They put on a delicious breakfast and were able to give us any information we required about Lewes or the local area (on Bryony and Emma's recommendation we had Sunday lunch at The Ram pub, which was sensational). All the time spent at, and all the the communication with, Blue Door Barns has never been anything other than a pleasure. We will be going back to stay for years to come.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Friendly owners and magical stay
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2013
Your wedding was AMAZING and we were so thrilled to be part of such a magical weekend.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura K
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful barns full of character and with incredible attention to detail”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 for a stay in July 2013

My partner and I stayed at the barns with our wedding party. Blue door barns couldn't have been a more perfect venue to be with our family and friends. It is a truly magical setting with incredible attention to detail - in the barns themselves, the courtyard and the beautiful surrounding grounds. The breakfast was awesome and as we were a large party they accommodated us with a great feast we could share together in the sunny courtyard with 1920s music playing in the background. We were bowled over by the generosity of the phenomenal hosts, Bryony and Emma who are a superb team. We couldn't recommend this venue more highly and look forward to visiting again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attention to detail
Liked least: That we can't stay there forever
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2013
You and your wedding party rocked! We loved having you and helping make the weekend so magical. Come for your wedding anniversary!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VICTORIA...
Paris, France
1 review
“Wonderful romantic get away”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Had a wonderful romantic weekend away at Blue Door Barns. Our Lodge was decorated to a very high standard , very much in the style of a Boutique Hotel. The owners certainly have great taste but also know how to make guests feel at home. Nothing is too much trouble and a lot of care has been taken to make a B&B with a difference'.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Decor and quality of breakfast
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2013
Come and stay again soon ... we can be your Paris escape!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sallyoga
1 review
“Stylish retreat in stunning rural surroundings”
Reviewed 12 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed at Blue Door Barns with our son and absolutely loved it. Emma and Bryony have amazing taste and the decor and little touches really make you feel you are staying somewhere special. We opted for a self service breakfast and were presented with a delicious hamper of breakfast goodies and some fun extras like sweet and salty popcorn. There's a gorgeous outdoor patio area which we were able to use for breakfast each morning (lucky October weather!). With a kid we often opt for convenience over luxury so it's fab to find self catering that can be rented for one or two nights and is so stylish!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review and for being fab guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing