We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highlight of our holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Potting Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hastings, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Connagh H
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highlight of our holiday”
Reviewed 3 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Arrived to a perfectly presented cottage. This is a home away from home and has everything that you could possibly need for a holiday stay and more. Extremely spacious and comfortable. It is also conveniently positioned in the Old Town for shops. (Perhaps a bit too easy to get to the wine bar, pubs and fish and chips!)
We loved our stay there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to details, and the clean and neat presentation.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather L
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful, beautiful little bolt hole! Perfect!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014
4
people found this review helpful

This place is such a gem. We stayed for several days in May and it exceeded all expectations. It has been beautifully equipped and decorated. It feels like a home, not just somewhere to stay and the owners have really tried to think of everything which might make your stay special and comfortable. It is tucked away in the old town, in easy reach of restaurants, pubs, artisan bakers, delicatessens, vintage shops and - the sea!
I can't recommend it enough and I shall definitely be revisiting. Enjoy! xxx

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie22...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect get away.”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the cottage over the bank holiday weekend and it exceeded all expectations. Location of the cottage is amazing everything was just on our doorsteps and dined at the local restaurants that were recommended to us from the welcome guild.We did book our tables as suggested which we were glad we did as the restaurants did get busy. The cottage itself was just what we wanted for a relaxing weekend. Furnished so nicely and the welcome amentities made us feel so welcome and special. The log fire was great to get cosy in the evenings. Would recommend to anyone and Defiently won't be out last visit. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TFK125
Calvados, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Definite 11 out of 10 Rating from Us”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

What a truly lovely cottage : really well-equipped, so very comfortable and right in the centre of the historic Old Town and a minute from the beach. It's hard to see how such a tiny cottage could contain all the elements needed for a brilliant stay........but it does : terrific shower, huge comfy bed, dishwasher, washing machine, superb tv in living and bedroom, Wi-Fi, really well-equipped kitchen, everything to hand and in pristine condition, loads of information on the area and no-fuss owners who couldn't have tried harder. Our dogs even found lovely bedding and bowls provided - although as seasoned travellers with their own passports they always travel prepared! With this review we feel we may have jeopardised the choice of coming back exactly when we wish, but we are prepared to take that risk. Good news needs to be spread around!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola J
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect home from home.”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Not only was the cottage full of charm and completely spotless, it was also the most thoughtfully equipped holiday home imaginable! A cosy log fire, an absolutely enormous bed and very thing we needed to cook delicious dinners with the local seafood. Great!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing