We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
29
15
2
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
15
2
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscheese boardold townfour postercafe barevery morninggreat hoststhree nightsenjoyable stayb and bfamily roomfull english breakfastplace to staygood sizetop floorfoylesalesarcade
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2017

I first came across the Jolly Fisherman when looking for a place to stay with my family whilst visiting Hastings. I'm so pleased we found this little B&B, which packs a lot into a very old and seemingly small building! It has recently been refurbished with new owners and you can really tell the fresh energy that has gone into the place.
The hosts couldn't have been more helpful when I arranged the booking and the rooms & service was excellent. The rooms felt welcoming and clean, with warm colours and good quality bedding. The old beams have been kept, but the decor had fun, modern touches with bright photos of the fishing fleets & pops of orange and yellow in the furnishings. The beds were comfy enough for us to sleep soundly and then the breakfast the next morning was AMAZING!
The young hosts, Becky and Oliver couldn't have been more friendly and were very knowledgable about the area. The location is so near to the beach and all the quaint little Old Town antique shops, restaurants and bars, but with their fantastic dinner menu (if they have the cuttlefish, do give it a try) and supply of unsual craft beers we found ourselves back there in the evening on more than one occasion. Being in the town centre it is not silent at night, so for the lightest of sleepers perhaps bring some earplugs. Overall it is an excellent choice that gave us all a real slice of Hastings Old Town life.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaRutRa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

Quaint, tiny place which we drove past several times before we noticed it. Good Location, although parking in a secure carpark is a good walk away - and expensive. Clean, comfy bedroom with a very tiny bathroom. Tiny TV located very far away from bed - but then we're not there to watch TV! Tasty breakfasts, but uncomfortable that one has to ask constantly for anything extra, although owners were very helpful when asked.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank bas011656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

Check out this tiny atmospheric place. Nestled amongst the big boys, their ambivalent staff and obvious food.
This young couple have stripped the pub back to its historic basics and it's great. Funky vintage bare bones furnishing,
Great menu -cheese board & chutney was very good.
Fun Selection of micro brewery ales. It doesn't run with the pack and deserves patronage.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank gooner52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

We went as a family with our 2 older sons. We shared the family room which was plenty big enough. The Jolly fisherman is hundreds of years old and retains alot of it's character. Not least it's staircase. It's quite steep but perfectly safe, just something to bear in mind if you struggle with mobility. The owners are just lovely. Laid back and helpful. The food was delicious and frankly the cost of the family room and breakfast in high season was incredibly reasonable. It is located right in the middle of the Old Town and the hussle and bustle, with the arcade opposite.
An absolute gem of a place and the fabulous owners, which once visited you will come again, we certainly will!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank kate l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. Good location - not far from main town and railway station. Room was spacious with quirky touches such as the old fashioned beams on the wall in monochrome with highlights of yellow in the furnishings. Bathroom was on the small side and did feel a bit cramped. Bed was super comfy. Only thing that disturbed our sleep were the seagulls squawking very early morning but that is what you get in seaside towns.
Breakfast was lovely with good quality ingredients. Especially the sausages. Eating area also had interesting quirky touches related to the seaside.
Owners were welcoming and friendly

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 552fiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews