We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ad hoc visit”

White's Seafood & Steak Bar
Ranked #33 of 357 Restaurants in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$49
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Whites is the longest seafood specialists, situated in the heart of Hastings old town and we recently opened a new branch in Battle. We are known for doing the best seafood that Hastings has to offer. We try and use as much local produce as we can, our best seller by far is our fresh English mussels. We sell in excess of 150 to 250 kilo's a week. We have Cod, Haddock and plaice arriving daily. We also we have great beef and game that come from a small local village butchers.
Reviewed 11 June 2021

Visited last night prior to a cinema visit.
We had not booked but the young waiter was very accommodating and offered us a table outside which was perfectly .
We both ordered the lamb shank which arrived cooked to perfection...Best meal out we've had for a long time. Helpful, cheery but not too in your face service from a young waiter .
All in all, very nice indeed .

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,872)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 1,872 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2021 via mobile

I came to Whites on 05th June and wanted to leave a comment to commend the restaurant, it’s staff and the wonderful Lula.

Upon arrival I was pleasantly surprised by how energetic, friendly and prompt the staff were. Having worked in the restaurant trade myself I am fully aware of how difficult it can be to maintain such a high level of customer service on a busy Saturday night so was very impressed. When we were seated it was clear the restaurant had worked hard to maintain strict hygiene standards as the table was spotless and provided sanitiser for us to use. The orders were then taken promptly although we did not feel rushed and both the starters/mains arrived within a nice amount of time. The food, well, it speaks for itself really. It looks delicious, tastes delicious and the portions are not restrictive at all. I had one of the meat specials which was 10/10 and my group all enjoyed their dishes - a variety of meat and fish - thoroughly.

Thank you to all at Whites for giving my group and I such a fantastic evening - there’s no doubt that we’ll be back in soon!

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank katherine_w07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2021

Couldn’t wait to have a meal inside a restaurant. Whites didn’t disappoint, food was lovely, plenty for your money although a bit skimpy on the starter crab pate, but only because it was so scrummy. :-)

There is a choice of two sittings we took the 6.15 slot. Just 4 of us. However, this turned out to be a mistake. We had just two hours to eat.

After such a lovely starter and main, we couldn’t wait to browse through the dessert menu only to be told we couldn’t have any desserts because our table was booked out to the next guests.

Such a shame, we were still buying beers and wine and felt our evening had been cut short, so disappointing. It could have ruined our first proper night out since lockdown. But the Old Town is lovely and we ended up at The Anchor for some late drinks. No pressure to leave your table there.

Would we book again - yes we would, but take the later slot. I think they need to review this.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JuBHastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2021 via mobile

Was really busy and fully booked, we tried our luck in the evening to get an outside table that you just turn up if there’s one free. Seafood platter is great as was the oysters and the seafood curry special.
Really enjoyed, nice friendly staff. Book in advance to avoid disappointment.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank markhO6588EF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2021

We intended visiting Sunday 23rd May for lunch in Hastings - looking forward to the lunchtime 2 courses for £13-50 as advertised on the companies website "7 days a week" We sat down and asked about the offer only to be told it was not available today. Another member of staff then pointed out that it was on their website that the offer could be withdrawn without notice at any time - we looked later and yes it is their at the very bottom and not below the offer as it should be.

We opted to leave and eat elsewhere - the place was empty at the time of our visit so they lost 2 covers.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank HoneyMonsterontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexseafood, Owner at White's Seafood & Steak Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2021

Thank you for your review.
I'm sorry you was disappoint that we didn't have the lunchtime offer on when you visited.
It does state on our website very clearly that this offer can be withdrawn at any time.
Not misleading in the slightest.
Within 10 mins of you leaving we very quickly filled up 3 times over with full paying happy customers.
As we normally do on a Sunday afternoon.
The light lunch menu is smaller meals which cost less but if you had payed the normal price then you would of received a larger meal so you would still get great value and had a great meal
Regards Alex White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White's Seafood & Steak Bar also viewed

 
Hastings, East Sussex
 

Been to White's Seafood & Steak Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.