We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
90
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
90
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jane and david high street old town comfortable bed feel extremely welcome wonderful weekend private bathroom nothing too much trouble perfect place to stay family room breakfast was delicious an ideal location hastings town hosts accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights over the weekend and we thoroughly enjoyed it. This was our second weekend stay in Hastings, we spotted Gallery 53 on our 1st visit and vowed to stay here when we returned. The reviews on TripAdvisor backed up what we had seen and it lived up to our expectations. The room was cosy and had everything we needed, very nice to have breakfast inbour room by the window overlooking the street. We had the red room. The breakfast was absolutely beautiful with a great choice to suit everybody. We will definitely return soon.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank we_woz_ere_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Smack bang in the middle of Old Town Hastings Gallery 53 was an ideal spot for exploring and finding great places to eat and drink. The room was amazing, inspirational art work painted by our congenial hosts Jane and Dave. The tasty breakfast with a full menu was served in our room which overlooked the street. It was great to watch the world go by. Jane and Dave made us most welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them. We'll certainly return when we are back in that vicinity.

Room Tip: Large room with impressive bathroom and furniture
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

We are regulars to Gallery 53 and it seems to just get better every time. If you enjoy your art you will find the place teeming with original art and David working away on his latest masterpiece. An informal homely atmosphere and hosts that do every thing within their power to make your stay a happy one. Then there's the old boy George the cat doing his meet and greet which is always a feature for visitors. Delightfully located in old town with a view overlooking the High Street perfectly positioned for all the attractions in Old Town. Highly recommended and great value.

Room Tip: Rooms are on the first or second floor so there are steps to contend with.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

Jane and David are very welcoming and helpful. Our Room was spacious and well furnished. Lovely attention to detail and the bed was extremely comfortable.
Tasty breakfast with perfectly cooked eggs. The location is really good, right in the heart of the old town and a short stroll to lively bars, restaurants shops galleries and the beach.
We had the double room rear of the house and enjoyed our breakfast drenched by the early morning sun. The front family room enjoys lovely street views.
Booked for one night and stayed for two. Great people, would definitely stay there again.
Must just mention George their 18 year old cat, handsome and really friendly but don't worry if you are not a cat person - he is not intrusive.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank janeysurman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

A perfect stay in a perfect location in Hastings Old Town. Walking distance from sea, great shops and restaurants. Bars aplenty! Jane and David were warm and kind hosts and the two bedrooms and bathrooms are charming and spotless. Breakfast choice and quality was excellent. Highly recommended.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Carrowdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews