We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rutland Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Travelodge Hastings(Hastings)(Great Value!)
US$62
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
US$141
US$127
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel(Hastings)
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$79
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Royal Victoria Hotel(St Leonards-on-Sea)
US$88
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Premier Inn Hastings Hotel(Hastings)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
51
22
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
22
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea frontmain area of townsewing kitfew minutes drivelovely guesthousesingle roomcooked to perfectionbreakfast was deliciouslittle thingsvisited hastingsstayed here for one nightfeel very welcomewi fitea and coffeeroom was spotlessnext morningbiscuits
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2018

We had a brilliant night here. The room was spacious with a comfortable chair and desk chair, and we slept so well in the bed. We overlooked the bowling green and sea and it was lovely to be able to walk along the sea. We were fortunate to get parking right outside. Everything was there that we needed and breakfast was superb - a beautifully cooked full Englsh breakfast.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank rjane15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin H, Owner at Rutland Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

I recently spent a night at Rutland Guest house with my daughter on a weekend trip to Hastings. We had originally made plans to visit in the autumn but an unexpected family emergency meant we had to cancel our booking at the very last moment. However, Kevin and Angie were so understanding (giving us a full refund etc) that we didn't think twice about where to stay when re-booking our trip. Our room had everything we needed: it was clean, comfortable and felt homely. Breakfast the next morning was lovely. Excellent value for money- would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 706bythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin H, Owner at Rutland Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

This guest house needs some major updates especially the exterior. It is a very large place and I can imagine the upkeep is costly but if you want to make an impression spend money on the little things and don't buy cheap. The bathroom was lovely but then a silly shower spoilt the whole decoration because it was extremely slow with no power at all.
If the rooms are not full, never put guests in the smallest rooms always put them in the best room with a great view. The room was quite small in comparison to other places we have stayed.
The couple were lovely and breakfast was superb and it is in an ideal location however parking is on street!!
I can only rate it a 3 star due to appearance and inadequate shower.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Vicky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin H, Owner at Rutland Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

We are sorry that you did not have a good experience. It would have been helpful if you had mentioned the shower before you left so that we could try to rectify the problem. The house is on the sea front so is exposed to the elements, we do our best to maintain it. It is coming to the end of winter and it never looks its best at this time of year. We always try to give our guests the best room available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

Just returned from my stay here and everything from start to finish was excellent.
I had a lovely sea view room with double bed and en-suite facilities. the room it self had lots of extra little things that made it so nice, things like a box of tissues, hand wash, sewing kit (which incidentally I did need), nice canvases on the walls, tea and coffee and couple of ornaments which made it feel really 'homely'.
Breakfast was lovely every day and nothing was too much trouble.
Whole place absolutely spotless.
The owners Angie and Kevin are such lovely people and could not do enough for me.
I was in Hastings visiting my daughter and if I return I would not hesitate to stay here again

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelaA4095RN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin H, Manager at Rutland Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Thank you for your review. We are please you enjoyed our stay with us.
Angie & Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018

This is a well run guest house. Very friendly host and hostess, Kevin and Angie. Our room was spotlessly clean and well appointed. A wonderful breakfast cooked to perfection. Certainly a place I would recommend and will certainly return.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin H, Owner at Rutland Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Thank you for your review we hope that we see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews