We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great cottage but very small particularly as...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Candy Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Brighton, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Katia T
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Confortable and clean but expensive”
Reviewed 2 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I have booked for a week for my family and myself. The flat is very vintage too much for my taste. The mixture of wall paper , painting and decoration was over the top with second hand furniture with a mixture of,different,style. Not good taste for me but the beds were big and confortable.
I let home at 4 30 am and arrived in Brighton at 2 pm where we were meeting the cleaner.
I had to wait for 1/2 outside with my son until two men arrived at the door and said that they forgot about us. I was not happy !
When we got in, the house was cold . It had not been heated for a couple,of months. We had to wait half an hour for the heating to be fixed. Then the wifi did not work so another wait for the handy man. We had lost an hour from our afternoon and it took a while to warm up.
For the next tenant, i would advice the owner to make sure that everything is working in the flat and to make sure that the welcome.is done on time.
We had a nice,stay overall but for all those reasons i dont thing i will stay there again sorry.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bettywigg...
1 review
“Great cottage but very small particularly as advertised for 6 not sure how you would fit in”
Reviewed 28 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Lovely cottage , delightful owner but quite expensive for what you were renting ie no dishwasher , old iPod dock.bed in master bedroom on wheels which meant it moved round room, lovely but for the price I think they need to up their game. I think it's very competitive in Brighton.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerrymill...
Croydon
1 review
“We really enjoyed our stay in Candy cottage”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My self and some friends booked to stay at candy cottage for a weekend break. We really loved the house and it was very well kept. The garden however is tiny and very overlooked and it is in a very hilly area, which would prob be ok if I was fitter but since I'm not it did mean cabs back and forth to Brighton centre. I would however def stay there again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossco_ed...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Really nice house in an excellent location - just a 15 min walk from Brighton Pier!
This is a great property for a group of friends to share and is very reasonably priced. The house is just as unique and quirky as Brighton itself!

The only thing that could make this place better would be an additional bathroom (6 gay guys sharing need a bit of time to get ready in the mornings!)

We were lucky enough for the weather to be great when we stayed and were able to use the star of this property - its fantastic private garden area. Absolutely perfect for a glass or two of wine on a warm summer's evening.

If there's a group of you and you're looking for somewhere affordable to stay in Brighton you won't do much better than the fabulously named Candy Cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicky D
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect rental for families with teenagers, and delighted that our dog was also welcome!”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Had a lovely short break at Candy Cottage with our teenage daughters and dog during the half term break. The girls loved the colour scheme and vintage features of the cottage and generally thought it was very "cool"! The bedrooms were very spacious, and the beds were huge and very comfortable. It was only about a 15 to 20 minutes walk to the sea front and the shops, so we were able to combine some lovely walks along the beach with our dog, as well as browsing the shops and restaurants in the town, and of course discovering the attractions on the pier. We did manage to find some free parking near the cottage, but unfortunately not in the same street. However, we didn't use the car at all during our stay, so would think twice about taking it next time. We would definitely choose Candy Cottage again, if we return to Brighton.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor of the house, especially the bedrooms and bathroom
Liked least: Would have been handy to have had a toilet seperate from the bathroom
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing