We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,846)
Filter reviews
1,846 results
Traveller rating
689
628
304
148
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
689
628
304
148
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seattle hotel overlooking the marina multi storey car park pizza express inland view free car parking number bus monsoon shower hotel entrance small balcony modern hotel cooked breakfast restaurants and bars a sea view room town centre public areas full english
Filter
Updating list...
397 - 402 of 1,846 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2017

Situated in the Marina area, about 2 miles from Brighton centre, this is a nice clean hotel with some well designed rooms and has everything you need including a nice bar area overlooking the marina, minibar, rainfall shower, hairdryer, tea and coffee facilities with kettle, safe, AC and ironing board.
A few observations:
- car parking is free at the adjacent multistory car park. Park on the 6th floor and walk towards the walkway situated near the disabled parking. Then walk between the restaurants to find the hotel entrance. Be careful of the very tight ramps when driving in the car park!
- nice "touch card" entry for the hotel door, but I didn't appreciate the mop and bucket left outside my room door on arrival! A staff member noticed and swiftly apologised and removed it.
- it's not easy to find a route to walk from the hotel to Brighton centre. Best driven, especially at night!!
- the price wasn't cheap, but was about right for this level of hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Rupinder B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

Rooms aren't great if you get one with a connection door like I did as all you can hear is the tv and guests coughing all evening as it's just a thin door between them. Major works were going on when I stayed there on both occasions I stayed this year which is fine but the signage was non-existent and the layout is quite sprawling so I got quite lost. On the plus side the breakfast is absolutely amazing, really first class. The lounge areas are vast which is excellent for meetings. Parking is easy downstairs by subway to stop off bags and then a lift takes you up to reception. Then parking is free but a few minutes walk away. And the marina area has been transformed in recent years so there are excellent chain restaurant options if you want to eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Whiskeydrum W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

Stayed here for one night over the August Bank Holiday weekend.

Really loved the atmosphere of the hotel - the décor is very well done & the balcony overlooking the marina is excellent. Check In was great - even had a complimentary gin & tonic whilst checking in.

The room was excellent, with a door opening up to a shared balcony area. All very clean & decorated lovely.

Our only issue was the service in the bar - we joined the advertised Friday evening cocktail event,, where after waiting for 15 mins, were told our drinks would be another 15 mins (unfortunately, the waiter in question did not have particularly good customer service skills & indeed had already agitated us for serving others ahead of us) / experienced something similar when we ordered a bar lunch. Is a real shame, as the hotel is lovely, but they need to sort out the bar service!!

Despite the bar service issues, would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Chose a room with a Marina View - worth the extra!!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Craig_Cattigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Arrived early and we were able to check-in straight away. Very friendly and helpful staff at reception with no delays.
We had an inland double room which was perfect for our needs, would love a room with balcony but a bit out of our price-range unfortunately. Our room was spacious and very clean, good sized bathroom and a bonus of being able to open the room window to get fresh air was a nice treat - so many hotels only seem to work with air con which I hate!
Breakfast was a real treat. We had paid for continental but upgraded for a couple of £ to have the full breakfast. It was so lovely to have it cooked fresh and brought out to the table rather than the dreaded buffet queues. The continental choice was buffet style but everything was fresh and replenished quickly and we found the whole experience something worth returning to. In fact, looking to return over New Year!
Location wise it was great for us, beautiful walks around the marina and only a 30-40 minute walk to the Lanes and the pier. We love to walk so were fine with this and the marina also has lovely bars and restaurants to explore.
That takes me on to the hotel bar! What a lovely choice of different drinks and cocktails at the Malmaison. You could spend an absolute fortune that was the only downside but for a treat we loved it.
Hope to see you again one day!

Room Tip: A sea view would be lovely but don't be put off by inland views
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 August 2017

Dear Ellen P,

Thank you for you amazing feedback.

Your lovely comments about your stay are really appreciated and have been shared with the Hotel team.

We look forward to welcoming you back for New Years if not before.

Kind Regards

David Eiffert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

I havent been to Brighton for a couple of years and was keen to try the new rebranded "Seattle" in the form of the Malmaison.
Arrived all in order and parked in the multi storey car park new door ..dont forget its free.
The surrounding marina area has now had the addition of a residental block of flats with the usual chain resturants under the flats..
We had already prebooked with booking.com at a decent rate without the breakfast which at £15.99 seemed a bit pricey.

Check in was smooth and from from the reception area it was was apparent that the overall Malmaison brand make over theme was "Dark" or "Darker"
Our room was on the 3rd floor.
The corridor areas are extremely dark qoth very low light and dark walls and carpets.
Nice touch with the illuminated room numbers in the corridors.
Room was very compact and actually very small but nicely decorated and equipped..bathroom was shower tray only but again excellently appointed.
During the night the room became very warm and unbearable, even though the air conditioning was on. Windows are restricted opening due to safety so the room does get really claustrophobic.

We sampled the bar and drinks patio on our return on the night with excellent views of harbour .
In the morning we sampled the wonderful breakfast and although expensive it was an excellent choice..hot and cold buffet witha choice from menu.
On the 2nd night we complained about the heat in our room and was supplied with a great floor fan to make the stay more comfortable.
Overall staff experience was excellent from front of house..reception..bar to restaurant all the staff were really welcoming and keen to ensure you had a pleasant experience

On check out the breakfast bill was xeroed due to our experince with the over heating room.....nice touch.

All in the all the Malmaison is excellent and is just what the old establishment required ...only im not too sure about the brown paint!!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tom082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 August 2017

Dear Tom082,

Thank you for your review.

Its great to read about your wonderful breakfast experience and the welcoming team.

Thank you also for your feedback regarding the air conditioning the issue has now been resolved following your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards

David Eiffert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews