We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,810)
Filter reviews
2,810 results
Traveller rating
765
1,043
623
230
149
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
765
1,043
623
230
149
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view sea front ceiling fan lovely hotel car park box of chocolates noisy at night street noise superior room short break public areas third floor brighton seafront two night stay lovely room good nights sleep comfy bed
Filter
Updating list...
1,104 - 1,109 of 2,810 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Stayed here in May 2016. The room was comfortable and had a sea view. Did find a pot of jam on th floor behind the curtain. The room was quiet and in a great location the only down side was the very small and very slow lift, was a struggle to get 2 people and 2 small hand luggage in and waited over 10 min to arrive so pray you haven't forgotten something in your room. Over all I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2016

Dear Frances D

Thank you for your review

I'm sorry for the shortfalls you experienced but do hope you will come back soon.

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016

From the friendly greeting as we walked in, to a very helpful member of staff on leaving, we found this hotel very good value indeed. The rooms are a little dated but then the prices reflect this, and the hotel reception area looks smart. The breakfast was one of the best I have had, such a great choice. The location is spot on for the bus terminal, shops, The Lanes, sightseeing bus, pier and the Grand Hotel. I would certainly visit here again and heartily recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms can be noisy so if this is a problem for you, enquire before you book.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 44,447,777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2016

Dear 44447777

Thank you for your great review

We hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Lovely hotel, lovely location and the room was beautiful. Avoid room 130 however if you want a good night's sleep. I would recommend the earplugs supplied as the staircase and/or lift are located very close to this room, constant banging and noises all night.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank shamly_584476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2016

Dear shamly_584476

Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards

Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

Excellent location right on the sea front and minutes from Brighton Pier. Booked three superior king rooms, but two of the rooms had double beds , I had manager talk to me and she said that the king bed in room one had a special king bed which did not make sense to me. Without doubts the other two rooms only had double beds and were a lot smaller also. They said they had no other rooms and that they stood by their views that it was all King beds. Beware! Besides this issue the rooms were clean for most parts bar the walls were bit dirty and some cushions ( pic below) Staff were friendly enough and the lobby was well decorated and suited the hotel ambience. The location makes it easy to get around and some rooms have amazing sea views. Would stay again but not be fooled by King rooms which some actually only have double beds

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Eireboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016

Dear Eireboi

Many thanks for your review.

All King bedded rooms have a minimum 5ft Kingsize bed. Some rooms have super kings but we do not advertise these as they are limited.

I assure you that as per the conversation with Miriam the rooms are 5ft King Beds and not 4ft 6 Double beds.

Kindest regards

Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016

I stayed here for 2 nights last week with a friend and her daughter. The staff were extremely accommodating - in particular Philip who was lovely & who was happy to do everything we asked, recommending & generally being very helpful! The breakfast was great & again the staff & service great. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joannepovoas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OSHGuestRelations, Front Office Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016

Dear joannepovoas,

thank you very much for a great review.

We will pass your comments to Philip as well and we are happy that you have had a great stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,
Katarina Dobociova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews