We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,131)
Filter reviews
2,131 results
Traveller rating
274
556
634
374
293
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
274
556
634
374
293
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea front both mornings comfy bed a sea view room cooked breakfast full english pier
Filter
Updating list...
248 - 253 of 2,131 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night with my partner. Check in was easy and the lady Kat on reception was really lovely and friendly. Sadly the compact double room we stayed in was rather dirty and very dark- there are only lamps no ceiling lighting so it was quite depressing. The room had an instantly noticeable smell of cigarette smoke. Someone who had used the room had definitely smoked in there it was horrendous. We called reception and asked if we could upgrade we paid £20 and were put in a much larger room with a sea view. Definitely worth it. Both rooms were rather dated and definitely need updating- especially the bathroom. Overall the hotel is not great but it was worth paying £20 to upgrade to a brighter more spacious room. I think this hotel should consider lowering its prices. I realise they are in good location however the hotel is not up to standards for £150 per night we payed for the compact room.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank roikate2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

Booked this room months ago on a pay when you get there deal and they took the money straight away, but when we got there the room was down a tiny alleyway had to use a fire exit lift that takes ages to get going and then when we get to the room it’s a tiny dark room with paper thin walls we saw that we could upgrade for £20 a night go to the desk and it’s £40 for 2 ppl so £80 for 2 nights we asked to see the room before paying the upgrade and OMG what a difference sea view massive room with a balcony you can access from your window, it had been a long trip so we then had some dinner downstairs but had to send that back because it was just tasteless and processed and the drink prices were expensive for what they were so we ended up going to the off license down the road and taking it to our room in the end we it was a lovely break but will not be staying at this hotel again any time soon

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank steephanniee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017 via mobile

Price for a Saturday night was £130 which wasn't bad for Brighton. Parking was fine at the hotel and was free after using booking.com

The room was small but clean. Bar was ok and reasonably priced for Brighton seafront.

Not a bad hotel. Would use again for the night

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jackbO1992WW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Mercure last Sunday and on arrival we had a speedy check in. The room was a nice size and very clean and comfortable, the bathroom was very clean but felt it could do with a bit of a face lift. The receptionist last Sunday night was extremely helpful and welcoming, she was also there on Monday when we checked out and helped us with an issue. I believe we paid £18 for 24 hour parking which was very adequate it meant parking up and being able to walk along the seafront and In to town with worrying about feeding a metre. We treated ourselves to room service for breakfast and wasn’t disappointed we had a full English which was very nice. We will definitely go back for another visit.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CaronL561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Thank you for your review and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and the bathrooms are being refurbished next year. We look forward to welcoming you back for another visit.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

Just had my daughter on the phone crying. My son in law booked here for their 1st anniversary was suppose to be a lovely surprise a lovely weekend away. Imagine the shock to get there to find a box room with views over what looks like back of hotel. For the price they charge the hotel ought to get ashamed of themself's.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Valerie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Thank for your comments on your daughters stay at the hotel. The only comments I have had over the weekend regarding the size of a guests room was from an anniversary couple and the room booked was a compact double room. As per the description they are the smallest rooms in the hotel. As we had availability this guest was upgraded to a standard room complimentary.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews