We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$170
Hotels.comUS$170
TravelocityUS$170
PricelineUS$170
Trip.comUS$170
Agoda.comUS$170
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,194)
Filter reviews
1,194 results
Traveller rating
594
356
149
71
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
594
356
149
71
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews south downs alfriston village cuckmere valley pretty village afternoon tea croquet lawn lovely hotel outdoor pool log fire scones wedding party cream tea waiting staff seven sisters evening meal one night stay lamb
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 1,194 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2022 via mobile

We had a lovely break here with our two Westie dogs. All staff were most helpful. Michelle on reception always smiling and helpful & when we requested a change in pillows (to feather) and extra blankets this was addressed within minutes! Our dining experience was delicious with attentive waiters and waitresses. With beautiful grounds to walk around and the opportunity to take a dip in the pool,we shall definitely be returning. Thank you all for making our stay perfect.

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank thelmae2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 May 2022

Such a Beautiful place to stay and a wonderful place for a wedding. The staff were so polite and friendly. The hotel is very clean and comfortable and so welcoming. Our room was exceptional, the bed was comfortable and we had tea and coffee and biscuits that was a nice touch. Would stay again in a heartbeat.

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank D6052SUmarkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 April 2022

Staff pleasant and helpful, breakfasts big enough to last all day, very comfortable room and excellent venue for local sightseeing and visits within a popular rural village. Short journey to the Seven Sisters cliffs and coast, and perfect for both long and short walks.

Room tip: Room 26 on the second floor is spacious with views on 2 adjacent sides - over gardens and across pool to rolling landscape
Date of stay: April 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank VWGolf03
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 April 2022

Brilliant, well worth a visit. The hotel and restaurant were a pleasurable experience.
Would recommend this establishment to anybody, the hotel is clean and quiet with a pleasant bar area.
The menu was adequate for a evening well with a reasonable choice and well presented, this also applies for Breakfast.

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank micheal1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 April 2022

Although we live very locally we stayed here on our last day walking the South Downs Way with our dog and we definitely saved the best stay until last.
We were made to feel very welcome and enjoyed time sitting on the terrace enjoying the lovely gardens on the sunshine.
Our room was comfortable and clean and I believe the owners are refurbishing rooms slowly.
Our dog was given numerous biscuits by staff, breakfast was the best we had all week and a very good variety even had tasty gluten free items I could eat as a Coeliac.
The owners certainly know how to run a very lovely hotel and have choosen staff well, they were all friendly and I cannot recommend this hotel enough.

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank nicolagF5451RJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews