We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
34
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
4
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Comfortable, very clean and a delicious breakfast with the lovely owner Dorothy seeing to your every need. Ideal base from which to explore the area and come back to an excellent nights' sleep. Heartliy recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This review is a bit late as we were staying here about a year ago. Yet the very reason I need to write is I want to share with you this wonderful experience. The room is comfortable and clean and with a spectacular view. The breakfast is very delicious and with all the freshest ingredients. Dorothy shared with us while cooking and we enjoyed it very much. She is such an adorable and loving host. I mentioned about the little bit soft mattress on the added bed and she fix it the same day.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carman W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

3 generations of the Smith family descended on the Old Farriers and Dorothy couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. The rooms were lovely. Comfortable, very quiet and with lots of nice touches like varieties of tea etc. and breakfast was delicious. We had a lovely stay and wholeheartedly recommend the Old Farriers for anyone wishing for an individual place to stay in the centre of Shaftesbury. I wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JintyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Expected the verandah view to be from our room unfortunately not
(Picture a bit misleading) also pleasant evening apart from the noise from the pub
However good hostess, very comfy bed and room would recommend

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sakinsangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldfarriers, Owner at The Old Farriers, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to add a review. To provide potential guests with a full picture I would like to expand on the first two comments:

The Old Farriers is tucked away to the rear of the High Street and on a windless day happy chatter from the excellent pub/restaurant can on occasion drift across to the verandahs, but I would like to stress that once inside your room any outside noise is not heard as The Old Farriers is built into the side of the hill. Guest rooms have french windows which open up onto a large verandah where you are free to sit and unwind or wander down to the lawn and relax under the shade of the old apple tree.

Please read guest reviews below, all will confirm an undisturbed slumber and an appreciation of hill top location and breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We have had two visits to the Old Farriers one at the end of October and one mid-November. What can I say that has not already been said. Dorothy is the most helpful and hospitable lady and her rooms are spacious, clean, warm and welcoming with all the little touches you could wish for. Breakfast is individually cooked to your requirements, and beautifully presented and really sets you up for the day. I would love to return to the area in summer to enjoy the benefit of the decking outside the rooms. Thank you Dorothy for most delightful albeit brief stays with you.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gavdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews