We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad”
Review of Funki Griller

Funki Griller
Ranked #52 of 792 Restaurants in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$82
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: We know steak. We're all about our juicy meats, that's not to say we don't have vegetarian options too, but meat is kind of our thing. We source all of our meat from a local butcher and order our fresh produce on a daily basis. Our motto: less pretense, more food! The Griller is for life, not just for Christmas and we can cater to all different kinds of occasions... birthdays, stag do's, business dinners, date night — whatever your event, we're cooking!
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Steak was cold, saw on the screen the man handled raw chicken then touched steak-after we ate. Found a long hair in my dinner. I was very ill after eating my meal which ruined my holiday In Bournemouth. The waitress took off the price of one meal however was still costly for dinner which resulted in me having food poisoning. Won’t be returning.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Elliemayhannah100
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Funki Team, Owner at Funki Griller, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Elliemayhannah100,

Thank you for your review, and sorry to read that you had a poor experience finding a long hair in your meal and your steak to be cold, especially as this is your first ever trip advisor review!

Obviously this is not acceptable and both of these complaints, if genuine, should have been handled, and meals exchanged by the front of house team long before the time came to pay the bill.

All of our kitchen team are trained to a minimum of Level 2 Food Safety, therefore we take your alleged food poisoning very seriously and invite you to get in contact with us on email so that chef can fully investigate.

Many Thanks
The Funki Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 1,351 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2021

Excellent evening and experience!!. What a great warm welcome from the hostess and staff were tentative and friendly. Fillet steak was melt in the mouth with a beautiful peppercorn sauce. My wife enjoyed the New York strip Sirloin with a side of fries and blue cheese source which was off the scale!!. We finished the evening with some funky cocktails all served by the beautiful waitress Brooke. We will definitely be going back. See ya'll again soon

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mattrG4759HF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Funki Team, Owner at Funki Griller, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi mattrG4759HF,

Thanks for your lovely review, great to read that you enjoyed your steaks, sauces and cocktails, and of course the service of our beautiful Brooke!

See you soon!

Best Regards
The Funki Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2021

A restaurant that specialises in steak should be able to cook them as requested and they managed that with us. My rare ribeye was seared nicely on the outside and perfectly pink in the middle and my friends T-bone was unfortunately cremated as he’d requested. The sides that came with it were nice and worked well with the steak.

My only slight issues was my starter, 3 really tasty but tiny pieces of pork belly for £8.50 seemed a bit steep. Overall though I’d certainly go back and would be happy to suggest it to others.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Funki Team, Owner at Funki Griller, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Rob W,

Thanks for your kind words following your meal with us, Hopefully you will return again soon so that we can try for that elusive 5th star!

Many Thanks
The Funki Team
x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2021

I don’t usually leave reviews but felt I would as we had such a fabulous evening and thought that I would share our experience. We visited funki griller last night with 10 of our friends.
Upon arrival we were greeted by a lovely host who was super friendly and made us feel very welcome.
We had an exceptional meal from start to finish, the scallops were second to none and the rib eye steak was the best I’ve had in a long while . I could not fault the service the waitress was very tentative and went above and beyond to make sure we had a great evening.
I would throughly recommend this restaurant and can’t wait to go back .

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Traveler653712
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Funki Team, Owner at Funki Griller, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Traveler653712,

Thank you for leaving this wonderful review! Awesome to read that your group enjoyed the visit and enjoyed the meal and service.

Come again soon for more of the same!

Many Thanks
The Funki Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2021

We had the two steaks for £30 on a Thursday (think it's available Sun-Thurs) Food was delicious and service very good :-)

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank mandy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Funki Team, Owner at Funki Griller, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear mandy l,

Thank you for your short but very sweet review. You are absolutely correct, our 2 x 10oz Ribeye/Sirloin and chips for £30 deal runs Sunday to Thursday, hope to see you again soon for some midweek munching!

Many Thanks
The Funki Team
x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Funki Griller also viewed

 

Been to Funki Griller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.