We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,691)
Filter reviews
1,691 results
Traveller rating
754
627
207
71
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
754
627
207
71
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chalet rooms swimming pool town centre family room good size car park bunk beds per day the cliff lounge area water pressure buffet breakfast restaurant staff duty manager short break evening meal sea front
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 1,691 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

Lovely hotel staff. Rooms clean but in need of renovation.
Toilet would only flush once every 15 minutes so not great for a family of 4. Shower had no power at all and was very frustrating trying to wash in such a small space with little running water. No ventilation in the room or bathroom whatsoever. Was hot and claustrophobic.
We had a family bunk bed room...
Double bed was tilted downwards so you felt as though you were sleeping with your head towards the floor. The most uncomfortable sleep I’ve ever had. Have to book in to see Osteopath now as I am in so much pain with my back.
Bunk beds were dangerous and our son had to sleep on the floor in the end as there was no support for the top bunk and ladder kept coming away from bed.
Breakfast was good.

Stayed: August 2018
Thank S30phg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaetano d, Manager at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2018

Dear S30phg,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. All your points have been noted and I sincerely hope that you will return some time to enjoy our hotel.
Best regards
Gaetano De Rosa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

Booked 2 single rooms for a 2 day stay. Very pleased with my room, it even had it's own little balcony and chair! Nice size bathroom and everything was lovely and clean. Enjoyed an excellent 3 course meal on the first night and breakfast each day was very good too. All the staff were extremely pleasant and very helpful. Location of hotel is perfect for beach and town. I cannot fault my stay here in any way at all. I definitely will book again if I return to Bournemouth and would not hesitate to recommend to others.

Stayed: August 2018
Thank Kerimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaetano d, Manager at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Dear Kerimar,
Thank you for your 5 star review, we are all delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will return sometime. Your comment towards our staff and food are much appreciated.
Best regards
Gaetano De Rosa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

The hotel is very close to the pier and shops but it is a walk. Too far for my elderly mother, but good for those fit. Hotel staff were always cheery and helpful. Rooms were immaculately clean but the basic rooms were just that, basic. The executive rooms gave you the bigger space, but both perfectly adequate. Access to the use of a pool was fantastic.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank LLlewelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaetano d, Manager at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Dear LLlewelyn,
Thank you for your review, we are all delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will return sometime. Your comment towards our staff and food are much appreciated.
Best regards
Gaetano De Rosa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

This was our second stay at this hotel. We had a week's leisure break and were very satisfied with the experience. Our executive room was spacious with a separate walk in wardrobe area. The room was very clean and it was great to have fresh, fluffy white towels every day. We didn't use the pool as the weather was very summery and the hotel is quite well located for the beach (approx 15 mins walk via the zig zag path). Breakfast consisted of an ample range of hot and cold food and staff were most attentive. Also good car parking on site. All in all a highly recommendable hotel.

Room Tip: worth investing in superior/executive room for a longer stay
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shifnalites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaetano d, Manager at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Thank you for your review, we are all delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will return sometime. Your comment towards our food are much appreciated.
Best regards
Gaetano De Rosa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018

Really lovely stafff. Room was disappointing. Small and dated. Shower poor. Very clean although dated hotel and not too far from the beach. Hotel was full but exceptionally quiet in the bar area. Did not use pool facilities. You can use amenities at sister hotels too. Breakfast was overall good and buffet style. Lift is supposed to hold 4 people but there’s no way it does. No fan or any air con in room so very hot. I think you could ask for a fan if you need one. Quite comfy bed. No atmosphere in lounge / bar area. The staff are a credit to the hotel and that’s why I scored it four out of five. Would prefer a pot of coffee at breakfast as they pour you a cup and you have to ask for a top up. Bit disappointing to have to pay car park fees and I think this should be free.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jane2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaetano d, Manager at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Dear jane2311,
Thank you for your review, we are all delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will return sometime. Your comment towards our staff and food are much appreciated.
Best regards
Gaetano De Rosa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews