We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just the place to getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Open plan Living Room/Dining Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open plan Living Room/Dining Area
Open plan Living Room/Dining Area Open plan Living Room/Dining Area/Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Open plan Living Room/Dining Area
Open plan Living Room/Dining Area
Open plan Living Room/Dining Area/Kitchen
Buckingham Cottage - Log Burner
Home from home, fully equipped kitchen
Master Bedroom
Twin Room
Garden View
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Movers201...
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just the place to getaway”
Reviewed 13 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a lovely relaxing stay in Buckingham Cottage. The weather was perfect (best weekend of the year so far) so we were spoilt with the lovely views across the garden, over the valley to the hills opposite bathed in sunshine. The cottage is lovely, very comfy and homely with everything you need (and more). Everything was very clean and well maintained, lovely comfy bed and super pillows. Part of us was a little disappointed that the weather was so good as we were looking forward to a log fire but maybe next time!
If you are looking for a relaxing break with all the home comforts but close enough to the lovely town of Bridport and the stunning cliffs of West Bay - look no more.
Spend time in the garden with a book and a glass of wine and the only noise you hear are the birds and the occasional 'horsey' noise as they wander past the bottom of your garden - they are very friendly and our dog made new friends.
We are planning to return, either as a couple again or as a large group as I'm sure the Farmhouse is just as lovely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Getting away from it all but being close enough to have it all
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2016
Thank you so much. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola H
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful setting with stunning views”
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was clean and homely with more luxuries than one expects in a holiday let. The enclosed garden was perfect for our two dogs who loved to watch the horses over the fence! Our son also enjoyed the games room - especially when it rained and we couldn't go fossil hunting!! Access to the cottage is not for the faint hearted with approx 2.5 miles of single track roads to navigate whenever you want to venture out but I guess that is the price to pay for peace and tranquility! My only negative comment would be that having searched for a "pet friendly" location with a private, enclosed garden, we were greeted with a big poster on the door stating that dogs were not to be left unattended in the property - this meant we had to take our Labs everywhere with us - even when just popping to the supermarket for food. That aside, we had a lovely, relaxing week; even though it rained almost every day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chalkyban...
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A lovely cottage, well-appointed and with a stunning view”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We spent a very enjoyable week at Buckingham Cottage on the Lancombes Estate. Both Mr Semmance and his daughter were very welcoming and the accommodation was as good as we had expected. We shall return soon to enjoy again the beautiful view and the many attractions of West Dorset.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
56default
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fabulous place, a real gem”
Reviewed 4 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

we came across Buckingham cottage whilst planning a week away in half term. we wanted somewhere that was dog friendly and close to Bridport with a bit of character. We (2 adults, 2 young children and a dog) couldn't have been happier with our choice. The location was stunning and the horses at the end of the garden kept the girls occupied for hours, although it did cost us a fortune in carrots! The cottage was well laid out, well equipped and spacious and the log fire was just the thing for the end of the day with a glass of wine. We've stayed in several places in the Bridport / Lyme Regis area and this has been our favourite by far.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: Meeting a tractor on the single track access road!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Officegod...
Steyning, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Peaceful home from home”
Reviewed 12 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

It was so very peaceful, I wished we could have stayed longer. Loved the views, and the horses in the field behind our cottage.
There was everything we needed, the welcome drinks & bickies were appreciated. We loved the Dorset biscuits so much, we had to buy some to take home!
I had very prompt response from Adrian, with very comprehensive directions, and lots of info re things to do whilst there.
We would highly recommend the marquis of Lorne for a meal, and would advise booking a table as we only got a table (for 2 at 6pm on a mon eve) because someone had just cancelled their booking!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing